Opinions about PB purchase.......

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by smitdavi, Dec 22, 2004.

1. smitdavi macrumors member

Heres the deal. I'm a webdesign student at Indiana University and would really like to have a PB for second semester. I already have Dual G4 1.25 tower, and need a PB to take on campus or on the road. I have about 2,800 at my disposal, and could possibly wait until the end of January. If apple doesn't do anything with the PB line, besides some speed bumps, what would be the best way to spend that 2,800 to have the ultimate machine? Thanks in advance.

David

2. chrismcdowell25 macrumors member

PB

I have the 15 inch powerbook. It is hard to find bags for the 17 inch and the 12 inch is a little small and lacks the performance. I went witht the 15 with the faster hard drive 5400RPM and the 128 MB of RAM for the graphics card. I belive with the student discount it ended up at about 2,100 I would get some more ram 1GB would be nice I have 512. If you want you could get the bluetooth mouse esspecially for playing some first person shooters. I recomend call of duty. The new expansion United offensive is out and is a huge improvment. You could also if you want to spend grab an airport extreme or express to do wireless and I got the axio backpack http://www.axio-usa.com/html/p2.html I went with the swift. It is cool and I am planning on getting a motorcycle so it will be more practical after that. I think the only thing they are going to add on the new PB line is going to be a bit faster processors and a faster graphics card with more video RAM. and although that would be really nice my 9700 mobile with 128 is still very good.

3. Chip NoVaMac macrumors G3

Chip NoVaMac