Optical out ??

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by quigleybc, Feb 5, 2007.

  1. quigleybc macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #1
    So I looked at the back of my receiver and noticed it had Optical ins...and I remember my PowerMac has optical outs, so I went and bought an optical wire...

    Plugged it into my Mac, plugged the other end in to the receiver...switched my output settings in sys prefs>sound>output to Digital out...

    pushed the "signal select" button on the reciever to switch it from analog to digital, and nothin...no switch, no sound. In the receiver's manual it says it won't switch to digital unless it detects a digital signal. So I'm not sure if the receiver is not working right, or if I didn't set stuff up right on the Mac. The receiver hasn't had any issues other than this, so I'm doubting the receiver is messed up...so I'm stumped.

    Thought I'd throw a post up on here to try and get suggestions before I give up and return the optical wire tomorrow.

    Thanks in advance :)
     
  2. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #2
    fwiw -- i've got an optical cable tied to the s/pdif out from my g5 tower, and it worked w/o having to do anything else.

    is the cable putting out red light?
     
  3. quigleybc thread starter macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #3
    hmmm, I'll have to take another look...

    when should it be putting out a light ?

    thanks.
     
  4. sycho macrumors 6502a

    sycho

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    #4
    The cable should always be putting out red light when the optical output is active.
     
  5. quigleybc thread starter macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #5
    Yup, it's red.

    So the output is active...guess the receiver can't detect it...

    i'll keep tinkering
     
  6. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #6
    can the receiver handle both s/pdif and ADAT? maybe it's expecting ADAT...
     
  7. quigleybc thread starter macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #7
    There's really no mention of either s/pdif or ADAT. On the back there is an in for Optical dts and coaxial in.



    [​IMG][/IMG]
     
  8. nose macrumors newbie

    nose

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #8
    on my Rev A iMac G5 OS 10.3.9 under Applications then Utilities there is a program call Audio Midi Setup. I think to use my external DAC I had to go into this program under Audio Devices then Audio Output to select Digital Out under Source. also under Source there is a Format selection and you may have to change it. I use 2ch-16 Bit but you may have to select Encoded Digital Audio depending use. this may be the answer but unsure. I would go in there to double check what the settings are reading.

    I wanna move to British Columbia! I'm here in Asheville, NC. I think I have been here 11 1/2 too long..
     

Share This Page