Orange good for Apples

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Jason_Bryan, Feb 17, 2005.

  1. Jason_Bryan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #1
    It seems that a lot of the posts on forums are about bad service so I thought I would help even things out and say thank you to Orange, the UK Mobile Phone Network, or I should say their support staff, for walking me through the process of setting up my iBook to connect to the internet via my bluetooth Nokia 6630. It was a really refreshing process for me talking to someone who knows what a mac is, never mind how to configure one. well done Orange.
     
  2. caveman_uk Guest

    caveman_uk

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Hitchin, Herts, UK
    #2
    I have to admit to being rather stunned by that. :eek:
     
  3. iGav macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
  4. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #4
    I'm impressed. I wonder if you got the lone guy in tech support who's done it on his Mac back home?

    Last time I called Orange to find out which WAP/GPRS I should use for which service and to set up my email on the phone, they had no clue at all.
     
  5. kewpid macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    #5
    There must be a certain positive karma associated with naming your company after a fruit :)
     
  6. Jason_Bryan thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #6
    It may have been the the only guy at Orange that used a mac, as I had to wait all of 20 minutes for him to ring me because they didn't want to have to put me on hold for that long. The impression I got was that he had a mac in front of him as he could tell me exactly what was displayed on each screen I needed to goto and the exact wording of the options. Orange has also advertised their G3 pcmcia Data card using a PowerBook
     
  7. virividox macrumors 601

    virividox

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbar
    #7
    good on orange!!!

    i still find it a bit expensive to use my phone as a modem, especially now that there are hotspots all around it doesnt seem as practical anymore
     
  8. Jason_Bryan thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #8
    It is expensive if you want to surf the net for any length of time, but I wanted to get it up and running because of the work I do I am on the road a great deal and it is very convenient to be able to send and receive e-mail.
     
  9. rogerw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    west sussex UK
    #9
    was it tricky, cos i may try this with vodafone? like u, just for occasional use.
     
  10. Jason_Bryan thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #10
    No it was really easy. The only information I needed was the APN, password and account name settings. The rest is just putting the info in the right box!
    I have had a mobile with modem in since 1997 for use when travelling, the best period price wise was 2000 when I brought an unlimited internet account off a company called RedHotAnt at a one off cost of £40 for life time use. It used a 0800 number to access the internet and Orange allowed data connections on 0800 numbers at the time. I got 16 months of internet access for £40 all told. Not bad. Pity it didn't last.
     
  11. acedickson macrumors 6502a

    acedickson

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    ATL
    #11
    The reason it seemed as though the tech had a mac right in front of him is probably b/c of a program called Virtual Apps or a similar program. At ELK tech support we used Virtual Apps.

    Simple program of several screenshots placed on the web and linked on the web. So if I click on the apple I go to the next webpage showing the list of options and so on and so forth. It helps alot but can be limiting when there's not a screenshot for certain areas. We had one Mac at ELK. It was an old iMac G3 and you had to search to find it.

    Then again the only calls from Mac people we got were newbies to setup their connection. Which I always loved because it was so quick and easy. That's just another reason I decided to switch.
     

Share This Page