Ordered my first mac...

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by coday182, Aug 11, 2006.

  1. coday182 macrumors regular

    coday182

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Location:
    Jamestown, IN
    #1
    PPC G4 Mini, 1.42 Ghz Mac OSX TIger, BT,

    Just some questions considering I am not a compuer guy...

    1. Networking- How easy will it be to network it? We have a network in our house but not wireless.

    2. Aim, MSN Messenger, Yahoo Messenger- How do these programs work on it?

    3. iTunes- Can I transfer all my songs from the iTunes on my windows PC to my Mac? How? And what about reformatting the iPod?

    4. IE- Is there a problem with websites only being made for IE? What about songs and videos that are imbedded in a website and play with Windows Media Player?

    5. How much will I like my Mac?
     
  2. CNU182 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    #2
    im a n00b but i can answer a few

    1. easy like childs play
    2. adium/ichat seem to fill the pc shoes in most users opinions
    3. yes you can transfer easily, not sure about the ipod format

    5. VERY VERY much times a million :) welcome!
     
  3. Cameront9 macrumors 6502a

    Cameront9

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #3
    Unless you use a Banking site that's completely retarded or some other poorly-coded site, you should have no issues. As for WMP, download Flip4Mac...It will play WMV. If you have any other issues, you can always use FireFox.
     
  4. eenu macrumors 65816

    eenu

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #4
    Any reason you just bought a G4 and not an intel?
     
  5. coday182 thread starter macrumors regular

    coday182

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Location:
    Jamestown, IN
    #5
    cheaper... I am just buying this to hold me over about 6 months when I get my MBP.

    So can I talk to my friends on AIM with iChat?
     
  6. Kou macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #6
    2. I like Adium. http://adiumx.com/

    5. I like mine alot. So does my girlfriend now..
     
  7. Aperture macrumors 68000

    Aperture

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Location:
    PA
    #7
    1. Very Easy.. If you have questions just ask here on MR..

    2. I use iChat for AIM... but that is because I only use AIM. I would use Adium had I used Yahoo, MSN, etc.

    3. You can use an iPod.. or I always use a Java based program called "OurTunes". I don't know if it will work with a wired network, it should. Google it.

    4. As others said, download Flip4Mac (A plugin for QuickTime that plays WMV). Some websites may appear a little strange but 99.9% will come out fine. That is only because the person apparently doesn't believe in web standards.. Or FrontPage doesnt.:p

    5.:D :D :D
     
  8. gadgetgirl85 macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #8
    1) Networking is easy there are some instructions on Macrumors somewhere that will help you its a piece of cake
    2)Adium acts as a client for all the chats MSN, ICQ etc etc its great. Can always get seperate ones if you want. Don't forget ichat!
    3)Yes you can should be instructions on apple website (there are somewhere) how to do it
    4)Dont know
    5)You will love it! I've already said I'm never having a PC again
     
  9. BoyBach macrumors 68040

    BoyBach

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #9

    Absolutely, I use iChat to chat to my brother and friends who have AIM accounts with no problems.



    Just like the adverts says: "It just works." I'm relatively new to using a Mac, but my iMac has been up and running since November last year and it hasn't given me a single problem from the moment I first turned it on. I think you'll like your Mac very much, indeed!
     
  10. nickelbackmac macrumors regular

    nickelbackmac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Location:
    Jonesboro, Arkansas USA
    #10
    For the iPod reformatting... if you mean from PC to Windows, it does it on its own. You just plug it in, and iTunes will ask you if you want to replace your iPod's current library with the iTunes library on your Mini. Then say yes, give it a minute, and it's done. But if you mean reformatting it in different terms, I have no clue.
     
  11. steamboat26 macrumors 65816

    steamboat26

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    #11
    3. You can just get a third party app thats free, or has a free trial like ipod rip.This will import all the songs from your ipod to your mac. Otherwise you could network the computers together and transfer the files that way. Or you could burn all your music to CDs/DVDs. You can reformat your ipod by clearing the ipod, and then putting music from your mac onto it. Or you can do what the previous poster said, my way is kinda a roundabout way of accomplishing the same thing. This will allow you to do software updates for your ipod on your mac, but you won't be able to update your ipod on your PC.

    5. you are really gonna like your computer. Apart from being hard to upgrade, minis are very solid machines, and about as portable a "desktop" you will find anywhere.
    Enjoy your new computer
     
  12. coday182 thread starter macrumors regular

    coday182

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Location:
    Jamestown, IN
    #12
    what are the chances that, as far as networking goes, I will just be able to plug it to the router and go?
     
  13. Aperture macrumors 68000

    Aperture

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Location:
    PA
    #13
    Actually, pretty good. There might be like 1 or 2 settings in System Preferences but they will be pretty straight forward. Or, it will just work.:)
     
  14. kalisphoenix macrumors 65816

    kalisphoenix

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #14
    The registration process will walk you through it. Chances are you'll blink in surprise and say "WTF.... it's configured already?"
     
  15. coday182 thread starter macrumors regular

    coday182

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Location:
    Jamestown, IN
    #15
    Ok the bad news is I didn't get the Mini mentioned above. The good news is I got an intel core solo one instead :D . My dad keeps making a big deal how it is a waste of money cause I already have a PC (crappy at that) and that he is gonna "have to pay somebody to set it up on the network" I hope that when I get it, it is everything I expected and more and I can make him eat his own words. lol. sorry if that sounds mean. So on another note, any good websites where I can get some cool/useful freeware. I'm pretty sure that the only stuff coming with this is OSX Tiger with iLive '06
     
  16. furious macrumors 65816

    furious

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #16
    congrates:D

    you need handbrake for ripping dvd's on to the hdd

    networking is easy just plug the internet into the mini when you first start it up the set up process will do the rest


    i make no sense but my post count = +1 :D
     

Share This Page