Original 23' pinking problem with AppleCare

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by FireArse, Mar 10, 2007.

1. FireArse macrumors 6502a

Hey there...

Just wanted to give you guys a summary of my experience with my 23' and the now infamous pinking edges problem.

When I bought my Dual 2GHz PM with the 23' (I went for the AppleCare too) there was a great deal of talk about these screens. When I got mine - it was perfect. No dead pixels. Looked gorgeous. However, I read on here somewhere how to definately reproduce the issue.

I found my screen sufferred from the issue too - except to the untrained eye, it looked fine. Anyway - I decided to wait (why rush when you still have 2 years on the policy) till I graduated to try get the LCD panel replaced.

Anyway - fast forward to today - went to Regent Street with my ProCare card, and at my appointment showed the genius the issue. He quickly said 'with these ones, we just swap it for a brand new one'

I was shocked (pleasantly) and asked whether they had any downstairs. He said they sold their last one that morning - but that they'd have more in stock in a few days.

I specifically asked if I was gonna get a refurb - he said no, so I think I'll be getting one of the newer spec 23's.

I love Apple. GET APPLECARE :apple:

2. Father Jack macrumors 68020

Father Jack

3. suneohair macrumors 68020

suneohair

It doesn't work. It is a problem with the panel itself.

4. Father Jack macrumors 68020

Father Jack

OK. Good luck with the new one.

FJ

5. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

GoCubsGo

6. spyderracer393 macrumors regular

So how do you reproduce the issue? (I wanna check if mine is good or bad)

Thanks.
    -Brad

7. suneohair macrumors 68020

suneohair

If you have to reproduce it, chances are you don't need to determine whether it is good or not. Because it is working fine for you.

8. spyderracer393 macrumors regular