Original iBook isn't connecting to the Internet.

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by AlexS08, May 2, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    #1
    I am on version 10.3.9. Whenever I use my password to connect to my internet connection, I always get an error saying the mac failed to connect to the internet! Please help!
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    BittenApple

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    #2
    What are the settings that you're using for your wireless network?
     
  3. macrumors G3

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ USA
    #3
    Are you connecting wirelessly? If so, 10.3.9 doesn't support WPA2 or WPA. So, if your router is using anything other than WEP you will either need to upgrade to Tiger or Leopard or use WEP on the router.
     
  4. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #4
    Which iBook, if it is indeed the first iBook released yours may not support the network protocol.
    What is the network security, if it is WPA(2) it might not be possible with your Hardware to connect to the network.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    #5
    It is the first one that is orange on part of it.
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    JoeG4

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Bay Area, Ca.
    #6
    Also, 802.11b airport cards are hit or miss with routers that do 802.11b/g/n on the 2.4ghz band. On my old G4 it'd work with the router in 802.11b/g mode, but as soon as I turned n on, it'd stop being able to connect.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    #7
    I cannot put an airport card in my iBook because it is an old one.
     
  8. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #8
    What does this even mean?

    See screenshot.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    #9
    I have a different iBook! It looks different than the one on the screenshot.
     
  10. macrumors 604

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #10
  11. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    #11
    There is a problem, I think I don't have a airport card. If I don't, I can't get a new one because they are expensive.
     
  12. macrumors 604

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #12
    Let's figure this out :) ... HOW do you connect? Do you have a wire coming out from the side in the ethernet port, from the menubar? Or...?
     
  13. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    #13
    I do use the ethernet port I have, but I can't seem to use it.
     
  14. macrumors 604

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #14
    Have you been able to connect to the internet before at the same location?
     
  15. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    #15
    Yes.
     
  16. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #16
  17. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    #17
    I will check for my airport card.
     
  18. macrumors 604

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #18
    Do you have another computer? Try and use that cable on another machine just to rule out its not that.

    Can you show us the windows that you're typing your user info in? Blank it out of course.

    You don't need the card, that's only for wi-fi.
     
  19. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    #19
    No. I only have 1 mac in my house. I am the only one who has one.
     
  20. macrumors 604

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #20
    How about Windows PCs?
     
  21. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    #21
    I am using that right now.
     
  22. macrumors 604

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #22
    Can you try the ethernet cable on it? Or is there not one on that machine?
     
  23. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    #23
    I will try
     
  24. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    #24
    It isn't working.
     
  25. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    #25
    While you are all thinking about it, I am going to be watching Shark Tales on my XBOX.
     

Share This Page