OS 10.4.4 == "No Airport Hardware Found"

Discussion in 'macOS' started by RedMacMan, Jan 13, 2006.

  1. RedMacMan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago
    #1
    So I just updated my Aluminum Powerbook 15 to 10.4.4 via software update, and system prefs now tells me that "No Airport Hardware is Found" when I try to connect to the Airport base station I've been using for the last 2 years. Incredibly annoying. System Profiler still reports that I do, in fact, *have* airport, but OSX doesn't recognize it. Anyone heard of this? Any suggestions??

    Thanks.
     
  2. Laser47 macrumors 6502a

    Laser47

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
    #2
    Someone earlier had this problem, IIRC they said that deleting com.apple.airport.preferences.plist. If you try this be sure to make a backup of this file just incase.
     
  3. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #3
    Assuming deleting the preferences doesn't work, do you have another account to test this in? Perhaps make a new one if you don't already have one and see if that account recognises the card.

    Otherwise, a PMU reset may help. :)
     
  4. RedMacMan thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago
    #4
    Well tried all those suggestions, and nothing worked. In fact the preferences file you mentioned (com.apple.airport.prefrences.plis) doesn't even exist on my system.

    So... not quite sure what to do next. Apple's OS update disabled my airport. :(
     
  5. lexfuzo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Location:
    The heart of Europe
    #5
    next: check your spelling and delete this file:
    /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/com.apple.airport.preferences.plist

    (COPY and PASTE to identify it ;) )
     
  6. RedMacMan thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago
    #6
    Yea that didn't work either. Still "No Airport Hardware Found".

    This would be funny if it wasn't so sad. GG Apple... :(
     
  7. Laser47 macrumors 6502a

    Laser47

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
  8. RedMacMan thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago
    #8
    Yeah installed that. Still nothing. What a pain...
     
  9. Laser47 macrumors 6502a

    Laser47

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
    #9
    Lol, i was looking around the discussion forums on apple.com and saw your post. No one there has any suggestions either. Then only suggestion I have is to backup and reinstall osx. But first you should try calling apple.
     
  10. Fezwick macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2002
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #10
    I had this problem when I installed 10.4.4 on my PowerBook. I restarted and it took care of the problem.

    Other than that, have you tried zapping the PRAM or repairing permissions?
     
  11. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #11
    Be sure you have updated all firmware of your airport station, also make sure you have the latest airport drivers. Be careful when doing the station firmware upgrade, one small power flicker and it's gone forever. Firmware updates ROM code that lies within it. So you could try that. Nothing else I can think of except updates. Oh and do the Updates by Cat5/Cat5e ... rather Ethernet cable than Wirelessly.
     
  12. sudes macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    #12
    No Airport Hardware Found after 10.4.4 upgrade

    Has anyone solved this? I have the same issue as "RedMacMan" on my 17" PowerBook and I'm travelling in Europe and WiFi is the only way I've been connecting to the internet!

    If anyone has any suggestions it would be appreciated as I'm completely stuck and have tried every suggestion above. :-(
     

    Attached Files:

  13. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #13
    All I can think of is rechecking the seating of your card to make sure it hasn't come loose. :eek:
     
  14. IanC macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Location:
    Essex
    #14
    17" PBs dont have a seprate card though, do they?
     
  15. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #15
    I thought the older ones did. :eek:

    Do the PowerBooks have over 1GB of RAM? :)
     
  16. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #16
    Open System Preferences, click on Network, go to the Show: Airport if Airport isn't in that list click Assist me... and make sure you do Diagnosis and make sure it finds Airport. If it does and all that make sure Airport hasn't been firewalled or disabled some how. Disabled, the Diagnosis assistant should have something. Otherwise there may be another option (I dunno, but I think you can disable ports).
     
  17. CNU182 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
  18. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #18
    What have you tried so far and what are your machine specs? :)
     
  19. CNU182 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    #19
    Here's what fixed my macbook

    Restart and hold down

    Apple+Option+P+R until you hear two beeps.

    Enjoy.
     
  20. Kingsly macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #20
    tried that. no dice.

    To be specific, I have a MBP, 10.4.7.

    Last few days AP has been a little sketchy. Finally yesterday I got home from uni, turned on AP, and, Bobs your uncle, no AP hardware found!
    *Waits patiently for merom while eating dinner salad*
     

    Attached Files:

  21. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #21
    Try resetting your PMU (see apple's website for details) (Power Management Unit) something may have went funky in that area. That's the last thing I can think of.
     
  22. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #22
    RedMacMan why not just upgrade to 10.4.7? Think that might fix it?
     
  23. Kingsly macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #23
    AP just randomly came back... I didn't do anything.
    :confused:
     
  24. drummerboy4774@ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    #24
    Similar Problem

    I too was noticing intermittent AirPort functionality. I thought it was my trusty (not) D-Link wireless router. Turns out it's my AirPort card. System Profiler reports "No information found" about my AirPort card. I'm using a 15" 1.33 PowerBook, OS 10.4.7 with all updates installed. This started a few days ago. All above ideas have been attempted.

    HELP
     
  25. -Pisces- macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    #25
    I have been struck by it too. Even though I completely reinstalled OS X just 2 days ago. None of the above mentioned solutions worked though...
     

Share This Page