OS 9 iMac: How do i wipe drive without boot disc?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by marybeth99, Mar 25, 2006.

  1. marybeth99 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    #1
    Hi,

    I have an old iMac that I want to donate, but want to wipe my files from it before I do. I don't have the original OS 9 system discs.

    Any suggestions on where to get them, or an alternate solution for wiping the drive?

    If I download from here to my iBook:
    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=75103

    And then burn a disc - can I use THAT as a startup disc for the old iMac?

    Thanks!
    /mb
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Did you ever update the firmware? (If you had to.) You can just use an OS X disc. You boot off of it and run Disk Utility. You DON'T need to install OS X.
     
  3. marybeth99 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    #3
    Thanks for responding. I not sure what you mean by updating the firmware.

    I tried both OSX discs, but my iMac is not recognizing them, and asks if I want to initialize the disk.

    I inserted these disks while the iMac was running, but I did not try to restart from the disk directly.

    Any ideas? Thanks much.
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=93772

    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=86117

    Which old iMac do you have? It sounds like a G3. Then again there are a lot of those.
     
  5. marybeth99 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    #5
    OK - gettin there :)

    So...I have an iMac G3 266mhz. I think what you're saying is to update the firmware via an Apple site download; then run the OSX disks.

    Is that right?

    I would choose this update:
    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=60384

    Thanks for your help,
    /mb
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    You are correct.
     
  7. marybeth99 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    #7
    Hmm. My firmware was already up-to-date.

    iBook G4 Mac OS X Install Disc is still unreadable.

    Perhaps because it is meant to be read on an iBook?

    What about another utility/download that will allow me to wipe the drive?

    Or should I just post on craigslist for an OS 9 System Disc? <boo>

    Thx/mb
     
  8. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    Yeah, your iBook disc is tied to your iBook. I thought you had a full version installer.
     
  9. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
  10. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #10
    How will that help with a 266 MHz iMac G3? :D
     
  11. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #11
    That wouldn't happen to be the last iMac made without Firewire?

    Of course, what I really meant was, if he has a Firewire enclosure, he could pull the drive from the iMac and install it in the enclosure, and wipe it from his PowerBook.

    Right. That's what I meant. Whew. Almost embarrassed myself there. ;)
     
  12. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #12
    I believe the 350 MHz iMac was the last one without FireWire. So the 266 MHz model is out of the question. Otherwise I knew what you were planning. :p
     
  13. timswim78 macrumors 6502a

    timswim78

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
  14. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #14
  15. timswim78 macrumors 6502a

    timswim78

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #15
    It's been a while since I last used it, and I do not remember the answer to your question.

    You can also use the boot disk utility to make a boot disk from any computer with OS X and a CD burner:
    http://www.charlessoft.com/
     
  16. mklos macrumors 68000

    mklos

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    My house!
    #16
    I believe the iBook G4 restore is on DVD and that iMac only has a CDROM Drive in it. Like others said, it wouldn't work anyways as that will ONLY work on an iBook G4.
     
  17. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #17
    Actually, it was the 333 Mhz (rev B) version of the "flavored" iMacs. The first model with Firewire was the slot-loading drive version, starting at 350 Mhz.

    Glad we got that straightened out!
     
  18. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #18
  19. mklos macrumors 68000

    mklos

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    My house!
    #19
    Actually, you're wrong again, the clear colored translucent iMac in the 5 flavors (slot loading) had a cheap model that DID NOT have FireWire in it, known as the iMac. The other models were known as iMac DV's, which the DV signified that it came with FireWire.

    The 333 MHz G3 iMac models (Five Flavors) did NOT have FW in them either. They were still tray loading iMacs and only had USB 1.1 I/O ports.

    Now we have it straightened out the correct way...
     
  20. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #20
    According to Apple, the slot-loading iMacs supported FireWire Target Disk Mode:

    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=58583

    The slot-loaders started at 350 Mhz. But then, according to Mactracker, the FireWire ports weren't included in the 350 Mhz model. So Apple has created this confusion by being unclear on their support page.
     
  21. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #21
    Yeah, I learned that the 350 MHz models didn't have FireWire from this thread.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=187134
     
  22. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #22
    Now we just need to figure out what to do with this precious nugget of Mac knowledge. ;)

    It doesn't help our original questioner, that's for sure. Sorry for the thread drift!
     
  23. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #23
    Well I have a 9.2.1 and a 10.2.3 discs available if you want them. :D
     

Share This Page