OS 9 Network Install?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by andypress, Mar 3, 2005.

  1. andypress macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    #1
    I'm trying to install OS 9.1 on one of my 6100's that doesnt have a cdrom drive. I've heard that you can do a network install. I also have an iMac running panther if that helps.
     
  2. varmit macrumors 68000

    varmit

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    #2
    I believe you can only install 9.0, not 9.1 onto a 6100. I believe its incompatable.

    But if I take a guess, if there is an ability to choose a start up disk, that is if there is an OS already on the Mac, then you could possibly pick a Network drive to start from.
     
  3. andypress thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    #3
    You can install 9.1 as long as you have the full installer, not the update.
     
  4. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    Before making a comment like this again, check this web site. Among the info available is the minimum and maximum versions of the MacOS/MacOS X that supports each model.
     
  5. andypress thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
  6. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #6
    I know that you can do a network startup, but I think you might need the server version of OS X or OS 9 to do that.

    Have you tried Apple's kbase or Google yet? I'm pretty sure you can...
     
  7. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    Yes or no? The bottomline is that the PowerMac 6100 can run MacOS 9.1.
     
  8. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #8
    It would be nice if he actually read the link you provided.
     
  9. andypress thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    #9
    The question that I'm asking is if you can network install- not whether it supoorts it. I know that it supports 9.1 .
     
  10. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    Of course it can be network installed. Why would you think otherwise?
     
  11. andypress thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    #11
    Because nowhere on google nor apples site does it talk about installing 9.1 via a network. I'm looking for information in how to install over a network if its possible.
     
  12. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
  13. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #13
    You link is off point. It is about MacOS X 10.2 and Windows XP/XP Home. It makes no mention of MacOS 9.1 which is at issue here.
     

Share This Page