OS 9 on intel?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by ahriman, Feb 27, 2007.

  1. ahriman macrumors member

    ahriman

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    #1
    got a question from someone using a pre-intel MBP: can the emulation (if that is what actually is happening) that her MBP performs for running OS 9 be accomplished on the intel architecture?
     
  2. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #2
    Um, there is no PPC MBP, but no, Intel procs can't run OS9 at all.
     
  3. michaelrjohnson macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Location:
    54140
    #3
    This is my understanding as well.

    I wouldn't hold out for any future support, either.
     
  4. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #4
    There are some hackjob methods for getting Mac OS 9 on the Intel Macs. I did it to see if it worked for one thing and the speed was unusable. I would consider it a no go at this point.

    jon
     
  5. ahriman thread starter macrumors member

    ahriman

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    #5
    perhaps my models are confused then. she is running 10.2.something and it is pre-intel ("the version just before intel" she says), so was there another chip/chipset used between PPC and intel-based? or were the silver 15.1" notebooks simply called "macbooks" then?
     
  6. Super Macho Man macrumors 6502a

    Super Macho Man

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #6
    They were called PowerBooks, they had PowerPC processors instead of Intel, and they ccan run an OS 9 emulation environment called Classic within OS X. Intel Macs (like MacBooks/MacBook Pros) cannot run Classic at all.

    There is a way to run OS 9 on Intel called SheepShaver. http://gwenole.beauchesne.info/en/projects/sheepshaver It's a bit buggy though and it doesn't support most games.
     
  7. mgargan1 macrumors 65816

    mgargan1

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    Reston, VA
    #7
    She is using a G4, probably the first aluminum "powerbook", either that, or a Ti "powerbook"

    Either way, she is using a PPC processor, a G4 (PowerPC 7450, PowerPC 7455 or PowerPC 7447).

    If she is indeed using 10.2, the original Aluminum Powerbook would be the latest machine she could have, because it originally came with 10.2.8
     
  8. nazmac21 macrumors 6502a

    nazmac21

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Location:
    Digital World
    #8
    Unless you are running a program called Basilisk II. Which allows some OS 9 programs to work on a Intel Mac.
     
  9. zephead macrumors 68000

    zephead

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    in your pants
    #9
    Little Apple history lesson here: "Pre-Intel" MBPs weren't called MBPs, they were PowerBooks (which I still think is a cooler name :p), and the lower-end consumer laptops were called iBooks (shiny white casing). There was no "in between" PowerPC and Intel, it went right from PowerPC G4 processors to Intel Core Duo processors. Therefore Apple decided to change the PowerBook's name to MacBook Pro, and the iBook's name to MacBook, because they wanted the name "Mac" to be in every new Mac's name.

    And I've heard of SheepShaver, but I have no idea how it performs, seeing as how I've never used it.





    POP QUIZ!! Haha, jk. I'm not that mean :D.

    eek. beat to it.
     
  10. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #10
    Basilisk II is a 68K Mac emulator. Not a PowerPC Mac emulator. Therefore the highest OS you can use with Basilisk II is 7.6, and you can only run 68K programs with it.

    As mentioned, SheepShaver will run OS 9, but (as usual with these things), there is no support for any kind of hardware acceleration.

    --Eric
     
  11. beatsme macrumors 65816

    beatsme

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #11
    I believe if the machine has a G4 processor then it can run OS9 natively, though I have heard that some models w/the G4 will not boot into OS9...a firmware issue, I think. And I'm pretty sure that no version of Tiger will support OS9 in Classic mode.

    In any case, on every G4 I've used I've installed OS9 on a separate partition and it's worked more or less flawlessly. Note that you don't have to put OS9 on a separate partition (if the chipset/OS supports it), but I always did, just because...
     
  12. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #12
    8.1 :) although by that stage a lot of apps were starting to require PPC.
     
  13. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #13
    As long as the PowerMac doesn't have FW800 and the rest of the machines DDR memory -- they all boot OS 9.

    These things changed the hardware enough that OS 9 wasn't able to boot, the eMac was the only machine with a firmware issue right before the switch from the SDR PowerMac chipset to the DDR iMac chipset.

    For the Intel Macs, likely somebody may come up with a G3 virtual machine.
     
  14. Plymouthbreezer macrumors 601

    Plymouthbreezer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #14
    No. Tiger supports Classic just fine. I have Classic on all my systems running Tiger along with a System 9 System folder.
     
  15. ahriman thread starter macrumors member

    ahriman

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    #15
    and how do you enter "classic" mode? is it a boot-time choice? or is it an application/emulation?
     
  16. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #16
    You just run an OS 9 app and Classic starts automatically. You can also start it manually from Sys Prefs > Classic.
     
  17. speakerwizard macrumors 68000

    speakerwizard

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #17
    for os9 emulation on intel there is an app called sheepshaver, i havnt used it as i have no need but its out there (for windows linux or intel osx)
     
  18. GFLPraxis macrumors 604

    GFLPraxis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #18
    Before the Intel switch, the high-end silver machines were called "PowerBooks" and the white low-end machines were called "iBooks". After the Intel switch they became MacBook Pro and MacBook.
     
  19. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #19
    Oops, you're right. I think 7.6 is the highest Basilisk II supported, or was at one time.

    --Eric
     
  20. mikes63737 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #20
    I don't know how well this will work on an Intel Mac, but you might be able to run OS 9 in Q. I think that it has an option to emulate a Mac OS 9-capable machine. But, like I said, it might not work under Rosetta well or at all, and I'm not 100% sure it has OS 9 emulation.
     
  21. Plymouthbreezer macrumors 601

    Plymouthbreezer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #21
    On my G3 and G4 PowerMac, as well as my TiBook, I can boot in OS 9 by selecting it as a startup disk. Of course, I also have Classic emulation as an option to run when in Mac OS X.

    My 1GHz iMac G4 however can not boot into OS 9, the first iMac model to not allow such an option.
     
  22. beatsme macrumors 65816

    beatsme

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #22
    faulty recollection on my part. I remembered it as unsupported, but that was on a G5 :apple:

    apologies
     
  23. Marble macrumors 6502a

    Marble

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    #23
    Tiger works with classic, it just doesn't come with it..
     
  24. FredAkbar macrumors 6502a

    FredAkbar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    #24
    There seems to be some confusion here.

    Classic, meaning the Classic Environment run within OS X, is supported by any version of Mac OS X on any PowerPC Mac.

    OS 9 itself, meaning the ability to start up and run your computer in OS 9, is not supported in Macs made from 2003 on. (A small exception is that Apple continued to sell OS-9-booting PowerMac G4s to schools, even into 2003.) I think the G5 also explicitly doesn't support booting in OS 9, as it's a 64-bit chip if for no other reason.
     
  25. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #25
    It runs well with 256MB RAM on my macbook 2.0GHz CD
     

Share This Page