OS 9 on Xserve??

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by digiculture, Oct 31, 2003.

  1. digiculture
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Location:
    Akureyri, Iceland
    #1
    Please don't tell me this is rediculous, I have my reasons. Does anyone know if the old Xserve (1GHz) would run OS 9.2 (not classic, just OS 9)?

    Gústi
     
  2. Sun Baked
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #2
    Probably not...

    While it is using the same chipset as the Rev A MDD PowerMac G4 -- Apple added 2 PCI-to-ATA bridges, some controll panel lights, controlled cooling, PCI changes, smart drives, etc.

    These changes would not be reconized by the old OS 9 ROMs, and would problematic for booting -- since the only thing in the a MDD bootROM's OS 9 ROM file lookup sequence is the CD drive on the XServe.

    ---

    People did take the old 9600 ROMs and put them into the Apple AIX server, but ran into a bunch of problems.

    Most likely you'd have problems getting a MDD's bootROM hacked to boot OS 9 XServe, then more problems with the OS 9 ROM file recognizing the hardware changes.

    [Edit -- You can however get Mac OS X Server (the software) running on a Rev. A MDD PowerMac, and buy the Legacy Mac new from Apple]
     
  3. digiculture
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Location:
    Akureyri, Iceland
    #3
    Ah, well I didn't understand half of that but it sounds like you know what you're saying and I DID understand "propably not"

    Ah well, thanks anyway.

    Gústi
     
  4. CMillerERAU
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Location:
    Fresno, CA (Prescott, AZ for school)
    #4
    Just a while back I was wondering the same thing so I took my journalism office's Xserve offline (over the weekend) and threw in an OS 9 CD. It went to a white screen with black type, open firmware mode I think. So basically that's a negative, thankfully it booted up normally after restarting into OS X Server
     
  5. G5orbust
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    G5orbust

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    #5

    Well, to simplify what he said:

    The Xserve's hardware has changes that only OSX can use. In OS9, the changes wont work and wont let the xserve work.

    To simplify even more:

    No.
     

Share This Page