OS 9 on Xserve??

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by digiculture, Oct 31, 2003.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Location:
    Akureyri, Iceland
    #1
    Please don't tell me this is rediculous, I have my reasons. Does anyone know if the old Xserve (1GHz) would run OS 9.2 (not classic, just OS 9)?

    Gústi
     
  2. macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #2
    Probably not...

    While it is using the same chipset as the Rev A MDD PowerMac G4 -- Apple added 2 PCI-to-ATA bridges, some controll panel lights, controlled cooling, PCI changes, smart drives, etc.

    These changes would not be reconized by the old OS 9 ROMs, and would problematic for booting -- since the only thing in the a MDD bootROM's OS 9 ROM file lookup sequence is the CD drive on the XServe.

    ---

    People did take the old 9600 ROMs and put them into the Apple AIX server, but ran into a bunch of problems.

    Most likely you'd have problems getting a MDD's bootROM hacked to boot OS 9 XServe, then more problems with the OS 9 ROM file recognizing the hardware changes.

    [Edit -- You can however get Mac OS X Server (the software) running on a Rev. A MDD PowerMac, and buy the Legacy Mac new from Apple]
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Location:
    Akureyri, Iceland
    #3
    Ah, well I didn't understand half of that but it sounds like you know what you're saying and I DID understand "propably not"

    Ah well, thanks anyway.

    Gústi
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Location:
    Fresno, CA (Prescott, AZ for school)
    #4
    Just a while back I was wondering the same thing so I took my journalism office's Xserve offline (over the weekend) and threw in an OS 9 CD. It went to a white screen with black type, open firmware mode I think. So basically that's a negative, thankfully it booted up normally after restarting into OS X Server
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    G5orbust

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    #5

    Well, to simplify what he said:

    The Xserve's hardware has changes that only OSX can use. In OS9, the changes wont work and wont let the xserve work.

    To simplify even more:

    No.
     

Share This Page