OS upgrade program policy?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by jg3, Feb 8, 2005.

1. jg3 macrumors member

I just ordered a new Powerbook - finally, my current machine is nearly 5 years old! - and I'm trying to figure out what the upgrade path to Tiger will be like. In past years, it's been a non-issue, as I was a student developer, but as a Working Person(tm) now, I can't get those deals any more. Can anyone provide any historical/rumorological insights on what the odds are that people buying new Macs now will get free/cheap upgrades? I assume it will be time based, something like 4 months back from whenever it gets released?

2. Macaddicttt macrumors 6502a

Macaddicttt

If past releases are any indication, you'll have to pay full retail price. I know it sucks, but oh well.

3. vtprinz macrumors 6502

From what I understand, if you buy a new mac on or after the date that the new OS is announced, then you get at least a discounted price on it. The same way iLife seems to work.

If you're buying now, you'll have to pay full price.

4. timmyb macrumors 6502

This may seem a stupid question, but what is the retail price (in UK pounds), and would Tiger bought in the US work on an iBook bought in the UK?

5. jg3 thread starter macrumors member

So by "announced", you mean "released"? Tiger's obviously been "announced", although not given a ship date. I did some rooting around on the web, and found (and then remembered) that there was a deal of some sort for moving from 10.0 to 10.1, but I guess they stopped doing that, or at least being so generous about it, in more recent history?

6. bankshot macrumors 65816

bankshot