OS X Mountain Lion running on Microsoft Surface

Discussion in 'Apple, Industry and Internet Discussion' started by Dr McKay, Feb 18, 2013.

  1. macrumors 68040

    Dr McKay

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Location:
    Kirkland
    #1
    I knew it was only a matter of time before it happened but someone has turned a Surface into a Hackintosh. The Wi-Fi drivers in this build don't seem to be working so they're using a USB Ethernet Dongle.

     
  2. macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #2
    That was my first thought when I heard about the surface pro, iPad done correctly Hack surface pro.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Dr McKay

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Location:
    Kirkland
    #3
    Who'd go for a touchscreen tablet running OS X with these specs?
     
  4. macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #4
    Me
     
  5. macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Heh. If it works well this might be worth doing.
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    APlotdevice

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    #6
    No thank you. IMO Windows 8 has shown why touch driven and mouse driven interfaces should never be combined. All the conventional desktop applications that people wanted still really need a mouse and keyboard.

    I would much rather see Apple bring improvements for professional users to iOS. It has the potential... it was built on the same structural foundation as OS X.
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    boss.king

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    #7
    Fun novelty, but they put the start screen/metro in there for a reason.
     
  8. macrumors G5

    Rogifan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    #8
    iPad done correctly? Thanks for giving me my laugh for the day. My guess is you wouldn't be using this "hackintosh" as a tablet much if at all. So then what's the point. Buy a laptop instead.
     
  9. macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #9
    Why not?
     
  10. macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    There are many people in the world still wanting a touch-screen Mac. Not everybody has your/Apple's needs or opinions. Unfortunately, Steve damned touch-screen Macs to hell claiming that peoples arms drop off if they use a vertical touch-screen.

    Guess he never thought of having an adjustable screen like what was on the iMac G4, but whatever. Windows 8 now caters for that market.
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #11
    Indeed. When I first heard of the "iPad" I thought it'd be more of a "Macbook Touch". Just take a Macbook Pro and put the display where the keyboard and trackpad are and keep everything else the same. You'd have USB, FW, Thunderbolt/Display out, Audio in/out and in it's initial release maybe even a superdrive. Plus full desktop/laptop Mac OSX. That would have been awesome!!
     
  12. macrumors G5

    Rogifan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    #12
    My guess is the number of people wanting this is small. Niche market. Of course not everybody has my needs. But they don't have yours either. :)

    ----------

    Why not just use multi touch gestures on the trackpad?
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #13
    I do use those but it's not the same. Having a full fledge "Macbook Touch" would have been so much nicer then and "iPad. I like seeing the finder and where all my files are. Or having a blank desktop with no icons on it (what's the point of putting a background pic it's it's hidden behind app icons??). Or having a 500GB (or bigger) Hard drive as opposed to a measly 64GB. I don't care for the cloud based nonsense.

    Plus the iPad seems far more restrictive in what you can do unless you "jailbreak" it. On iPad (or iPhone) you can only download content from Apple's various "stores" whereas with the Mac I can still do pretty much what I want with it. I'll be honest the iPad is cool in many ways but until they can stick 500GB or even 1TB or storage into it I don't think I'll be buying one unless iPad and iCloud services are essentially forced on people.
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    #14
    Already done...

    Is awesome, but pricey. http://www.modbook.com
     
  15. macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    Oh yeah totally, practically nobody will do this. Since the Surface Pro comes with Windows 8 anyway, there is not much point.
     
  16. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #16
    Yeah I remember seeing those. Would be awesome but too bad it's only the standard 1280x800 resolution. If it was at least 1440x900 or 1680x1050 it would be much better. If I had I'd get one. This is what Apple should have done. Would have been so much better. But I guess that's just me.
     

Share This Page