OS X mounts ext3?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by kaosfere, Nov 1, 2003.

  1. kaosfere macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #1
    Hi, all. Forgive the n00b question here. I'm a soon-to-be switcher (*knock on wood*) and trying to plan how I'm going to migrate a bunch of data from my old Linux box to a new PowerBook. I'm thinking of buying an external drive case for my IDE drive, slurping everything off of there, then reformatting it to use as a backup drive.

    Which brings up my question. I've searched and I can't for the life of my figure out whether or not OS X will mount an ext3 file system. Anyone know? I can't see why it wouldn't, given the FreeBSD core, but who knows.
     
  2. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #2
    I don't see that listed as one of the possible file systems to mount; however, I believe that there's a project to port ext3 to Mac OS X.

    You can check the available file systems under /System/Library/Filesystems
     
  3. FattyMembrane macrumors 6502a

    FattyMembrane

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    bat country
    #3
    this allows you to create and read ext2 filesystems (and ext3 i believe, but without journaling). give it a try.
     
  4. kaosfere thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Location:
    Chicagoland
  5. daveL macrumors 68020

    daveL

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Location:
    Montana
    #5
    You could always set up NFS between the two machines. You'd need a network, of course.
     
  6. Fuz2y macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    #6
    I have achieved a method that works great to mount ext3 partitions on OS X Startup ;)

    http://fuz2y.com/?p=1

    Enjoy ツ
     
  7. enfolder macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #7
    OS 10.5.3 mounts ext3 (Journaled)?

    I'm running 10.5.3 on a MacBook Pro. I have ExtFSManager installed, but I don't seem to have mount_ext2 as a command line option:

    > mount_ext2
    bash: mount_ext2: command not found

    Any ideas? I don't want to mount this disk at startup, just occasionally. I get an error when I use the GUI.
     
  8. Fuz2y macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
  9. enfolder macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #9
    MacFUSE?

    I'm still trying to understand how to use the mount_ext2 command. I have installed MacFUSE and rebooted. Now what? I do not have the mount_ext2 command anywhere in my path. Spotlight can't find it.

    Do I need to do something to start MacFUSE? Can you tell me where the mount_ext2 command lives so I can add it to my path?
     
  10. Mikey7c8 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #10
    use fuse-ext2 instead of ext2 / 3 / whatever

    all the mount commands are /sbin/mount_*

    ie

    sudo mount -t fuse-ext2 /dev/disk1s1 /tmp/ex
     

Share This Page