OS X optimized firefox 2.0.0.2 with aqua form widgets available.

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by clevin, Feb 24, 2007.

  1. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #1
  2. jive macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #2
    Thanks. I love these optimised versions, so much faster! It's like running Camino... :]
     
  3. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #3
    FF still won't update to 2.0.0.2 for me. In fact i've never used the check for update feature cos it never finds anything and i end up having to go to the site manually to get updates.

    Now i know why i switched to safari.
     
  4. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #4
    if ur firefox isn't official version, like optimized version we are discussed in this post, then check for update will not work.

    if your version is official, and u can't use check for update, then u might have some glitch in your profile folder, a new profile should solve it.

    glad your safari's check for update works fine for u.
     
  5. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #5
    Im using the official version and im afraid i dunno what you mean by new profile.....?

    EDIT: Scratch that, figured out what you meant by profiles and creating a new one doesn't help i'm afraid.
     
  6. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #6
    well, see, can't make everybody happy, can it? :D

    2.0.0.2 is out, if the auto update is up too (which i don't know, coz im using this op-ed version. I do know there is a time discrepancy between every release version and its auto update version, normally within days), and u can't use it, then...... sorry, if it also bothers you.... lol, u can always use many other browsers out there. There is no IE on mac, so i don't do any bashing, pick whichever one you like:D
     
  7. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #7
    edit: I tested my old firefox, and 2.0.0.2's auto update is actually up, so , U do seems have bad luck with your firefox
     

    Attached Files:

  8. jasko macrumors 6502

    jasko

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    #8
    Thanks.

    BTW, I've always wondered how they make it 'optimized' for your machine? And what does that even mean? That it runs faster?
     
  9. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #9
    theoretically yes, because some cpus has some special features (like 3D Now! from AMD), but official mozilla's build does not contain optimization for certain CPUs. so some developers build firefox with their own parameters to utilized the special power of certain cpus.

    But, moden CPUs are very powerful, and firefox isn't a CPU heavy app. so I still haven't seen recognizable difference between optimized version and official version.

    Special mention: a tete optimized version is said to be very fast in javascripts,

    here is the forum where unofficial builds are released. http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewforum.php?f=42 remember most of them are focus on the trunk builds, rather than branch builds (base for release version.)
     

Share This Page