Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

CDailey

macrumors regular
Original poster
Nov 13, 2006
Florida
Okay, first of all, I'm posting this from an IBM laptop with WIndows XP :( because it has taken over 6 minutes (timed with a stop watch) for my Mac Book Pro to start up. It took 4 minutes and 53 seconds alone before the Apple logo showed up on the grey screen. I'm running OS 10.4.8 on a 2.16ghz Core Duo Mac Book Pro with 1 GB of ram and a 100GB hard drive with 30GB currently free. The only thing I can think of that could cause a prolonged start up would be the "lack" of space on the hard drive, but even with 30GB free, theres no way it should take over 6 minutes for the computer to boot the desktop. OSX has generally been kinda sluggish during normal operation as well. Does anyone have any suggestions? I'm a Mac noob, so have I done something wrong here that I don't know about?

killmoms

macrumors 68040
Jun 23, 2003
Durham, NC
With those kinds of specs you DEFINITELY shouldn't be having a problem like this, so I'm going to assume something is wrong hardware-wise. Have you run the Apple Hardware Test on the DVD that comes with your MBP? Pop in that DVD, restart and hold the Option key, then you should be able to choose the Apple Hardware Test. Run that and see if anything comes up as being problematic.

I'd imagine there's something wrong with the hard drive that's requiring it to read the same stuff over and over due to errors or something. A computer like that should not take 6 minutes to boot.

CDailey

macrumors regular
Original poster
Nov 13, 2006
Florida
Thank you for the help guys. I did the verify disk and it said that it needed to be repaired so I stuck the Tiger DVD in, restarted and ran the disk repair and now it's back to normal! Can someone explain how a disk gets to the state to where it needs to be repaired? Is it similar to how a Windows disk gets fragmented?

bousozoku