Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

knightjp

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 20, 2015
Dubai
There are quite a few who consider that Linux is pretty much the best for any kind of development. Because of its Unix heritage and being open sourced. I do not know about that. I would say that it depends on many factors. But since Linux is open and has quite a few developers already, you could develop for anything; including iOS and Android.

Perhaps.. The same people say that FreeBSD is about the only thing that comes close to it. This is also because of the unix heritage.

I'm not a developer. So I could be wrong. But anyways the key word here is Unix. Since OS X shares the same Unix heritage, could OS X also be used in the same way with the same development tools as linux?

Is there a way to harness the Unix capabilities of OS X?

subsonix

macrumors 68040
Feb 2, 2008
I don't think anyone who known what they are taking about considers Linux to be "the best" developer plattform unless Linux is the target plattform. Linux is a clone, it dosen't have a Unix heritage.. OS X is fully posix and unix compliant, BSD has been around before Linux and have more of a Unix heritage.

knightjp

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 20, 2015
Dubai
I don't think anyone who known what they are taking about considers Linux to be "the best" developer plattform unless Linux is the target plattform. Linux is a clone, it dosen't have a Unix heritage.. OS X is fully posix and unix compliant, BSD has been around before Linux and have more of a Unix heritage.