OS X Yosemite (10.10) Bug Thread

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by -Ray-, Jun 2, 2014.

  1. -Ray-, Jun 2, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2014

    macrumors regular

    -Ray-

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #1
    Post any bugs you find in here...

    Im pretty impressed that it hasn't been as buggy as other betas.

    Ive ran into one bug so far. When scrolling the applications folder and reaching the bottom is jumps to the middle of the pane.
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #2
    Could you post a video :D
     
  3. macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #3
    Multiple Monitors doesn't work when full screening an app.

    Like in ML, the other screens go blank, only the app full screen'd is viewable.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    #4
    The dock looks like something out of 10.3 instead of 10.10
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    #5
    Safari is super unstable for me (i.e. open it and it crashes within a minute). Is this true for anyone else?
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    #6
    Installed, had a look and have just initiated a time machine restore to mavericks. Didn't notice any bugs but the UI's just not for me I'm afraid.
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    smithrh

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    #7
    Aren't devs under NDA, and not supposed to talk about bugs publicly?
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    #8
    This thread is for bugs, not intentional design decisions that you happen to disagree with.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    #9
    Since it's in the public beta program, I don't think the dev. NDA applies... Someone correct me if I'm wrong though.
     
  10. macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #10
    Well not to be picky but the public beta for 10.10 doesn't start for a while so yes the NDA applies.
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    #11
    True.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    iJcaP

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #12
    I don't know if this is a bug, but apparently when I click "About this Mac" and check my storage it shows 20 GB less than what I had before. And it's all filled with "other".
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #13
    No screenshots.
    Buttons are pretty hideous.
    Helvetica Neue is a terrible screen font on non retina displays
    Setting up Family Sharing renders System Preferences unusable
    Getting locations in Tweetbot beachballs for a long time (possibly all getting location, will test)
    Mail have been stuck on the upgrade procedure for a long time
    Amazingly XtraFinder still works, albeit with doubling up of window titles. Very promising.
    Finder window titles can go behind buttons if you resize
    The folders are VERY blue (ok, so not a bug, but definitely something to get used to)
     
  14. macrumors G3

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the lens, UK
    #14
    I thought that was just my set up! Does this not happen in Mavericks?
     
  15. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    #15
    OK, we need a screenshot then.
    If confirmed I will stuck with Mavericks on my 2014 Macbook Air.
     
  16. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    #16
    That was one of the major features of Mavericks was that apps could be full screened without affecting the other displays. Does anyone know if this causes any sort of issue with applications that full screen on both displays? I use Microsoft Remote Desktop for work and it uses both of my displays, and that might hold me back from installing.
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    #17
    Stuck install

    My Yosemite install is stuck on "About 5 minutes remaining" and has been for over an hour. I finally held the power button, my mac restarted (with the new boot screen and progress bar), went back to the install screen and got stuck again at the same point.

    No progress yet. Is it just me?
     
  18. macrumors 68000

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #18
    Safari download icon is stretched vertically.
    Calendar displays some visual bugs both in the app and in the notification centre
    Did I mention how terrible Helvetica Neue is on non-retina displays?
    Mail worked after a force quit


    By far more usable than the iOS8 beta for sure.
     
  19. macrumors 65816

    irnchriz

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    Scotland
    #19
    As it is a beta you should really do a clean install
     
  20. macrumors 68000

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #20
    Oh dear. I don't think you know me at all. I love iOS7 and always have been. We're talking OS X here and I consider the rendering of a non-display font on a non-retina display a bug.

    And please for the love of God don't tell me how to set up my beta systems.
     
  21. macrumors 604

    bushido

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    #21
    let it index again, i also have this happening on Mavericks sometimes
     
  22. macrumors 65816

    irnchriz

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    Scotland
    #22
    I did actually change my post as I realised you weren't having a moan but as with any beta you should do a clean install as you have no idea how other applications will interact with a new operating system and any undesirable effects this may cause. I wouldn't want to point out the obvious of how to setup a system to establish a baseline prior to testing...
     
  23. macrumors 65816

    djtech42

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Location:
    West Chester, OH
    #23
    Can anyone confirm if Logic Pro X works under 10.10?
     
  24. macrumors 68000

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #24
    Core Audio has seemingly crashed on my iMac. Currently nothing audio related works. Investigating.

    Audio MIDI setup was dead for the longest time, now reports "No Devices Found on the System"
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    #25
    I don't have the new iTunes icon...?
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page