OS8.5 Updates?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Daedalus256, Mar 29, 2006.

  1. Daedalus256 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #1
    Alright well as some of you know I've had some issues with a wallstreet I recently purchased.

    I THINK they're almost resolved.

    I took the 466mhz chip out of it and replaced it with the original and got OS 8.5 installed. Here's my question though...

    Whenever I try to install OS9 on this thing, it tells me the installation cannot run on this computer. I know this can't be possible because I ran it on a G3 Lombard just the other day. Why is it doing this? Are there any updates I need from OS 8.5 (download 8.6 right now) to get this working? Let me know!
     
  2. bankshot macrumors 65816

    bankshot

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Location:
    Southern California
    #2
    Where did the installer come from? My guess is it's one of those install discs that came with another Mac (the Lombard?). In general, those are made specifically to run only on the model they came with. For example, the OS 9.2 install CD that came with my PowerMac G4 refuses to run on the iBook G3, citing a similar error.

    8.6 is probably it. There are some pretty major bug fixes if I recall (or at the very least, 8.5.1 fixed a few critical bugs from 8.5). Of course, that was several years ago now, my memory's getting a bit hazy... ;) If you're asking about getting the OS 9 install working, I doubt any OS 8 updates will help you there, for the probable reason listed above.

    At any rate, good luck, hopefully I'm wrong and you get it working. :cool:
     
  3. Daedalus256 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #3
    It's not a machine specific, it's an old iMac disc that installs on basically anything. That's why I'm confused as to why it will install on a lombard and not on my wallstreet
     
  4. Hugh macrumors 6502a

    Hugh

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Location:
    Erie, PA
    #4
    You might need to download 'oldworld' ROM script to install OS 9 correclty on your laptop. Check www.MacSales.com for the program (i don't have the link of the top of my head right now.

    -Hugh
     
  5. ahunter3 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    #5
    You probably have a copy of OS 9 that was intended for a specific model of computer (not the WallStreet). You can definitely install OS 9 onto a WallStreet, though.

    EDIT: Well, that will teach me to enter a reply to a thread I opened and then left hanging there while I watched a movie.

    Well, if this is indeed a "universal installer", that's very weird. Every existing flavor of OS 9 should agreeably install into this machine. Are you booting from the install CD?
     
  6. Daedalus256 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #6
    Yep, I've tried both booting from the install CD (first choice actually) and running from the installer in OS 8.6.

    Weird thing is, absolutely NOTHING on that disc will install, not even like the MacOS Software or anything. The only thing that works is Disk First Aid, Drive Setup,etc

    OH which reminds me, Drive Setup has an option to update a driver when I click my 20GB HDD. But whenever I do that it keeps telling me the driver will be available when I restart my computer :confused:
     
  7. RacerX macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #7
    That means it is machine specific... just because it works on some other systems, doesn't really change the fact that Apple only intended that CD to be used with the system it shipped with.

    I have an iMac install CD with Mac OS 9.0.4 on it and know that it does work with some systems that came out about the same time, but it will not work on all systems... which is why I own a regular copy of Mac OS 9.

    ... and no, it does not work on a Wallstreet.
     
  8. Daedalus256 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #8
    Well crap :(


    Well the good news is the reason thsi one PowerMac G4 9.2 disc wasn't working was because it was horribly dirty so I cleaned it up and I think it's going to install just fine (didn't tell me I can't install on it!)

    I have my fingers crossed.

    UPDATE: Alright, OS 9.2.2 installed! I updated whatever needed to be updated on it and then tried to boot from the Jaguar CD. But I never have luck booting those things by hitting the restart button it tells you to hit. Knowing that it probably won't be a good CD and just friggin boot when I hold C, I downloaded XPostFacto and used that to boot Jaguar, even though it's native. Lo and behold it's installing! Yay! Who knows if it'll actually hold but at least I got it going! Woo!
     
  9. Daedalus256 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #9
    Well here's whats going on

    I got into OSX Jaguar. It's running. If I unplug this thing or leave it off some some time without the ac adapter in, it does the green light thing and then reverts to OS9. When it does this, I can get back into X by setting my startup discs up again. Overall it's about as stable as it's going to get unless I purchase like a new PRAM battery or a logic board (one of the two seems to be the culprit and my money is on the PRAM battery)

    Maybe sometime I'll tear this thing apart and put a new PRAM in it but for now and for what I want to use it with, it works just fine and is pretty damn fast with this 466mhz upgrade in it, VERY snappy.

    I'm pretty happy I got this thing, it gave me a good insight into some major issues that can happen and basically how to fix them. Maybe the apple store will give me that call to be an employee ;)

    Speaking of the apple store I think I'm going to eventually take this thing there and have them give me an official diagnosis (if they can).

    and thus we end a chapter in mac history.
     

Share This Page