Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Skaught

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 12, 2003
My G5 arrived on Wednesday and I'm as happy as someone who is really happy. I've been using a G3 for the past 3-4 years with OS9, so this is my first real experience with OSX.

With the G3, I connected to the Internet through a Linksys router, then to my RR cable modem. It works fine. However, when I try to hook this thing up to my G5, it doesn't work. When I bypass the router, I get online just fine, but it won't connect through the router. When I hook it all back up to the G3, the router works. I've tried to make the TCP/IP settings on the G5 match what I have on the G3, but it won't work. The Linksys didn't come with any Mac software, and I don't remember ever installing any on the G3.

Should the G5 work in the same manner as the G3? Any ideas?

Thanks!

Scott

iPC

macrumors 6502
Jul 22, 2003
East Windsor, CT
DHCP???

Are you using DHCP or is the router assigning a particular IP address?

If you turn on DHCP, the G5 will "find" it and you should be all set. I assume you picked the correct option for networking when you booted the G5 the first time...?

Skaught

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 12, 2003
Re: DHCP???

Yes, I'm using DHCP. It picks up the address but it won't connect to the web. I get an instant "can't find" message as soon as I start Safari. No looking around or waiting, just BAM with the message.

I don't remember what I told it when I first set it up. But it world when I pull the router out of the chain and go through the hub to the modem.

Thanks,

Scott

patrick0brien

macrumors 68040
Oct 24, 2002
The West Loop
Re: Re: DHCP???

Originally posted by Skaught
Yes, I'm using DHCP. It picks up the address but it won't connect to the web. I get an instant "can't find" message as soon as I start Safari. No looking around or waiting, just BAM with the message.