OSX Desktop folders missing!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by nihilisticmonk, Oct 20, 2006.

  1. nihilisticmonk macrumors 6502

    nihilisticmonk

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    #1
    Hey,

    Weird problem here....

    If I download files to my desktop (via safari or unison...haven't tested anything else yet)

    It'll make the folder, or download the file, but the actual folder is missing!

    for example

    if I download from a newsgroup, unison is supposed to create the folder name of the downloads newsgroup on the desktop, but it doesn't!

    If I go to terminal, and cd Desktop, the file is there, but under the GUI it just won't appear.

    Sometimes if i do view and arrange by name, it'll appear, and other times it won't.

    If I go to "save as" in a program such as word however, the file appears.

    Sometimes just clicking on the desktop makes things appear!

    Anyone got any help, as it's doing my head in. I've tried repairing permissions (snake oil of the osx world) but it hasn't worked.

    Anyone got any ideas?
     
  2. Blackheart macrumors 6502a

    Blackheart

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    Seattle
    #2
    What version of OS X are you running? I know older versions have had problems with "refreshing" -- which is done when you click on the folder (or Desktop, as it were).
     
  3. nihilisticmonk thread starter macrumors 6502

    nihilisticmonk

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    #3
    10.4.8 on a macpro (updated from the 10.4.7 image factory installed)
     
  4. speakerwizard macrumors 68000

    speakerwizard

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #4
    im having the same problem on my c2d imac 24" ive been restarting the finder in force quit menu if it happens, that gets them to appear. havnt tried yet but gonna reset pram and check permissions when i get a chance.
     
  5. nihilisticmonk thread starter macrumors 6502

    nihilisticmonk

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    #5
    Are you running 10.4.8 as well?

    I've noticed the same thing on my macbook pro, but very rarely, but on my macpro, it's happening nearly every time!
     
  6. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
  7. nihilisticmonk thread starter macrumors 6502

    nihilisticmonk

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    #7
    Nope, machine is brand new, hardly insalled anything yet.
     
  8. andrewfee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    #8
    How about FileVault - do you have that enabled? I've found that interferes with a lot of applications.
     
  9. dogbone macrumors 68020

    dogbone

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    S33.687308617200465 E150.31341791152954
    #9
    What about Cmd+Shift+G and type in the Desktop address?
     
  10. untamedhysteria macrumors regular

    untamedhysteria

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    #10
    have you tried using a different user? did files that you downloaded to the desktop show in the gui with the new user? if it did, it's most likely a user pref that's corrupted. I had this happen to me once (back on 10.4.5). And creating a different user, copying all my data to that new user, deleting the old and renaming the new user worked wonders....

    hope that helps :)

    edit: backing up the keychain before you delete the old user is also recommended.
     
  11. nihilisticmonk thread starter macrumors 6502

    nihilisticmonk

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    #11

    I'll give that a go and see what happens! Thanks!
     
  12. nihilisticmonk thread starter macrumors 6502

    nihilisticmonk

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    #12
    I've fixed it.

    Anyone with a new Mac Pro with the same problem, download onyx from macupdate.com


    On the maintainance tab :-
    Run the daily,weekly, and monthly maintainance scripts (methinks there was a lot of logs from my factory installed image...it took ages to clear 'em down.)

    reset "display of folders content"

    on the Cleaning tab :-
    Click execute on the internet section.
    Same for the caches section
    same for logs
    same for misc options


    After doing this, and a quick re-boot, My desktop is as healthy as on my old G5.

    Sorted. :)

    I knew I should have formatted it with the recovory disks as soon as I got it
     

Share This Page