OSX install on G3 imac

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Hockey Nut, Apr 23, 2003.

  1. Hockey Nut macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Location:
    Battle Creek
    #1
    I have a slotloading G3 iMac that my son is using. He wants me to install OSX on it.

    The version that shipped with the computer is 10.0. I don't want to install it for fear of all the problems that were associated with it.

    Can I install OSX off the disc from my 12" PB or 1.25 PM?

    If not I guess he's stuck with 9.2 at least until Panther comes out.

    Thanks!

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Billicus macrumors 6502a

    Billicus

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Location:
    Charles City, Iowa
    #2
    Re: OSX install on G3 imac

    No, I'm afraid you can't install OS X off the Software Restore or Install CD's for your PowerMac or PowerBook. You'd have to run out and buy a Jaguar installation disk to get the computer up and running in OS X 10.2. Os X 10.0 did have a lot of problems as you suspected. I'll be glad to anwer any other questions you have.:)
     
  3. Hockey Nut thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Location:
    Battle Creek
    #3
    Thanks for the info. I was afraid of that.

    Oh well, he'll have to pry the PB from my daughter if he wants to use OSX.:) :)
     
  4. vniow macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #4
    I bought OSX discs off of eBay awhile back since I sold my origionals with a Powermac I had awhile back, and they were labeled iMac Software Install Discs One and Two (OSX) and an OS9.2.2 Install disc also and both worked fine on my iBook, no problems.
     
  5. unc32 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    #5
    yes, you can install off the disks provided with your powerbook. I have done it. You can't use the system restore disks but there is a disk just of system software. It is titles OSX install disk or something like that. It is there so you can reload the system software without doing a complete restore. It will work on any computer! We use one disk on all of our machines (4 different ones)
     
  6. Hockey Nut thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Location:
    Battle Creek
    #6
    Great! I'll give a try. Thanks much for the info.
     
  7. Hockey Nut thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Location:
    Battle Creek
    #7
    My Powerbook and Powermac, each have a disc called "Software Install and Restore"
    It doesn't work. The G3 spits out the disc
    D****.
    Oh well, I guess I'll wait for Panther.
     
  8. Backtothemac macrumors 601

    Backtothemac

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Location:
    San Destin Florida
    #8
    Nope. Can't do it. The 12" PowerBook only has one disc with it. It is a DVD-R and everything is on that one disc. No seperate discs any longer for X etc.

    I have 10.2.5 on my daughters iMac G3 500 and it runs fine. She does have 512MB Ram in it though.
     

Share This Page