OSX on x86 Discuss

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by CrackedButter, May 10, 2004.

  1. macrumors 68040

    CrackedButter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    51st State of America
    #1
  2. macrumors 65816

    abhishekit

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Location:
    akron , ohio
    #2
    :eek: wow, i didnt know such an app existed. anyone here tried it, or can try it and give a review..?
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    Yes, running 500 times slower than if you used the real hardware. Neat project, but not quite useful yet.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    MacCoaster

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Location:
    Washington, DC / Rochester, NY / Lexington, NC
    #4
    Wow you believe everything you read? No, that's just stupid generalization, most likely to dismay people so it wouldn't stir as much trouble, but I don't know.

    Really it's not that slow. It's quite usable. I'd say it's a 300 MHz or slower G3 running Mac OS X.
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    Acctually I believe almost none of what I read, but when it's on the author's own website I tend to give it some credibility. I didn't just pull the number 500 out of thin air.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Location:
    On a tugboat
    #6
    From the Web site....

     
  7. 7on
    macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #7
    geat! I've always wanted to run an emulated OSX from within an emulated Widows running on OSX!
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    Darwin

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    round the corner
    #8
    This may be ideal for some, however I don't see Apple supporting this, maybe when Moto was in charge this could have been a sign for the new chip for the Mac but now with the G5 coming along I think we'll be sticking with IBM for awhile, sure there have been delays for faster chips from IBM but this is also the same for Intel

    ITs going to be slow anyway so itsd not something to jump to
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Apple Hobo

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Location:
    A series of tubes
    #9
    I've thought about doing something crazy like this. How far could it go? Triple, quadruple, quintuple emulation? Farther?

    VPC on Mac
    VPC on Mac running VPC for Windows
    VPC on Mac running VPC for Windows running emulated OS X
    VPC on Mac running VPC for Windows running emulated OS X running VPC

    Emulate an emulation of an emulated emulator.

    It could go on forever. It could be like holding a mirror up to another mirror and seeing the reflections reflect the reflections.

    Never mind...I sense I've gone too far...

    Thoughts like these are what separated me from the other children when I was in school. :D
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    blue&whiteman

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    #10

    just one os emulation is enough to bring even the fastest systems down to a slow level.
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    benixau

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #11
    wow



    yours must go sooooo fast :D :D
     
  12. macrumors 65816

    blue&whiteman

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    #12
    I have seen virtual pc crawl even on a dual G5.
     
  13. macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #13
    AmigaOS 4.0 beta has finally gone Golden Master, this is the PPC version of the operating system designed for CHRP motherboards (aka PPC Platform & Linux PPCs).

    If they get this out and keep moving forward, having another name brand consumer OS besides Mac OS X will put a bit more momentum to PPC machines.

    Something that has been lacking since MicroSoft kill Windows NT for PPC, and Apple killed the clones.
     
  14. macrumors 68000

    kgarner

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Location:
    Utah
    #14
    Only if you saw the new VPC 7 since earlier adn current versions will not run on a G5.
     
  15. macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #15
    How'd you see VPC run on a G5?
     
  16. macrumors 65816

    blue&whiteman

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    #16
    typo. I meant G4. dual G4
     
  17. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    #17
    CHRP? Wow, it's been a while since I've heard that acronym (the better half of a decade). But you don't need a stinkin' emulator to run the Mac OS on PPC hardware; just use MOL.
     

Share This Page