OSX OS9 Dual Boot Issue

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by RunLogan, Aug 25, 2006.

  1. RunLogan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    #1
    I have a partitioned harddrive one half being OSX 10.3 and the other being 9.2.2. I had to reformat the OS9 side of the drive. Now when I try to use the OS9 install disk (hold down c on startup) it will just default to OSX everytime. Anyway around this to get OS9 on that partition? Thanks

    Dual G4 1.25 MDD
    1 G Mem
    2 FW 400
     
  2. LimeiBook86 macrumors 604

    LimeiBook86

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    Location:
    Go Vegan
    #2
    Is the disc scratched? What version of Mac OS 9 is on the disc? It seems like the Mac isn't finding the right software it needs to boot up. This may be because the disc is scratched or maybe that version of Mac OS 9 isn't compatible with that Mac. Have you tried using the restore discs that came with your Mac? Or try another disc to make sure your optical drive is working correctly.
     
  3. Dane D. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    ohio
    #3
    I service our G4 DP867 MDD unit at work. That computer can boot into OS 9, BUT it CANNOT boot into OS 9 off CD. To load OS 9 you have to boot in OS X and load to that parition you made. There is no way to get around this.
     
  4. RunLogan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    #4
    It does boot and work with this model. Ive had it working on there before. Its getting past the OSX startup thats the problem. You mentioned, "to load OS 9 you have to boot in OS X and load to that parition you made." Load what? I have both OSX and OS9 startup disks to work with. thanks
     
  5. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #5
    What he's saying is that you will need to load 9 onto the other partition through OS X. Apple began to do some things that make it almost impossible to load 9 on the newer computers. Yes, you've had the partition before and it worked, but to reinstall it, you need to go through OS X, not just boot off the install CD.

    At least that's the way I read it.
     
  6. RunLogan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    #6
    Im glad there is a way. How would I go about doing this? Thanks
     

Share This Page