OSX Safari/Firefox/Opra Issue

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Rogeroo, Sep 10, 2006.

  1. Rogeroo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    #1
    Hi,

    I cannot load certain web pages with either Safari/Firefox/Opra. I can access the same sites on a PC on the same network with IE on XP.

    Any ideas? Oh, websites include apple.com (certain pages) and microsoft.com which I would guess are popular!
     
  2. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #2
    Can you provide some example URLs that don't work for you?
     
  3. Alone2Gether macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    #3
    Yea, some websites require IE.

    Trying using Debug mode in Safar by opening up Terminal and type
    "defaults write com.apple.Safari IncludeDebugMenu 1"

    ****Make sure Safari is not open when you type in Terminal.****

    Then open up Safari and go to the site.
    Select Debug>User Agent>Windows IE

    Hope it works.
     
  4. Rogeroo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    #5
    These sites don't work in either safari, opera or firefox.

    Tried the debug thingy and it doesn't work on any engine.
     
  5. pianoman macrumors 68000

    pianoman

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    #6
    i tried all the sites you posted in safari and they loaded fine. have you tried restarting your computer? i often find that restarting will resolve most issues. maybe try repairing disk permissions in disk utility, as well. if those don't work you might want to take your computer (hopefully a notebook) to an Apple store so they can look at it.
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #7
    This has nothing to do with the browsers.... Certainly Apple's discussion forums should work on Safari on a Mac.

    What sort of error do you get?

    Here are some off the top of my head thoughts:

    1) Try going into Sys Prefs -> Network -> Your interface -> TCP/IP. Click on Configure IPv6 and turn it off.

    2) While you're there, hit Assist Me at the bottom and let it do the diagnostics (not the setup assistant). Make sure you get all green bubbles.
     
  7. Rogeroo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    #8
    I have turnd Ipv6 off. Tested with all green bubbles OK.

    Network connection is fine although I do have a packet loss of between 5% and 15% when I ping helposx.apple.com (saw it on another thread). I also get the same packet loss on XP. I have rebooted several times - this has been happening for around 4 weeks.

    I do not get an error, safari etc sit there indefinitely. Although I have seen a Network -1100(don't quote me!) error at some point (maybe unrelated).
     
  8. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #9
    Are you using an adblocker of some kind or any kind of custom CSS file?

    Do you have DNS servers set up in any of the computers (Windows or Mac)? If so is this set up in the same way on both computers? If you are letting DHCP get you DNS servers instead of putting them in manually, can you find out what your DNS is and put it into DNS servers in the TCP/IP tab?
     
  9. Rogeroo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    #10
  10. Rogeroo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    #11
    And this from msn

    Safari can’t open the page.
    Safari can’t open the page “http://www.msn.com/”. The error was: “lost network connection” (NSURLErrorDomain:-1005) Please choose Report Bug to Apple from the Safari menu, note the error number, and describe what you did before you saw this message.
     
  11. Rogeroo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    #12
    62.24.128.18
    62.24.128.17

    Setup dynamically. Tried static on router and static on mac mini. No diff. Also tried name of isp instead - no diff.
     

Share This Page