OSx security - from a switcher.

Discussion in 'macOS' started by kinesin, Jun 12, 2006.

1. kinesin macrumors regular

Hi, I've currently got a MacBook on order and currently been shipped to me so tonight leaving work I picked up the office powerBook G4 to take home and have a little bit of play - and to show the parents as they keep wanting a laptop and I'm not really keen on giving them a windows one. Support is difficult enough at the moment, but will be more so once they move to aboard.

Anyway the powerbook was the only mac in our company hasn't been charged/switched on since november 2005 when the previous user left. The Windows IT guys where happy to let me take it home and play, especially as all the users data has already been deleted.

Now unsuprisingly enough upon booting I didn't know either the admin or user password - however as I've been browsing round this site etc I realised that single-user mode existed and booted into that. (I'm a Unix/Linux admin by day and run debian at work).

Now from my background single-user mode seems very insecure! The G4 is running 10.3.9 and a few command I've charged the root password and the users! (Not quite as simple ast 10.2 - 2 extra lines) No login prompt into single user mode, not bios prompt to CD.
    Is this still the case with tiger? Does changing the root and users password to admin automagically make that user a admin user?
    I know things like filevault and encrypted images exist - but how much is left out of these? Do the global logs etc show sites visited, is the cache and cookies contained within filevault.
    From by brief play tonight, if my laptop gets stolen it seems at least some data might accessible, even with filevault.

Oh and is it possible to never display the user login names at the main login prompt?

I'm a bit gutted that there isn't whole disk encryption - is it planned?

2. crees! macrumors 68000

crees!