OSX telling me to restart

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by cardude280, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. cardude280 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Location:
    West Virginia
    #1
    I've had a macbook about two weeks now and nothings been wrong until now.Last night Osx came up and said i had to restart by holding down the power button and i want to know whats causing it.or whats worng
     
  2. elisha cuthbert macrumors 6502a

    elisha cuthbert

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #2
    have you installed any foregin programs recently or any software you wernt sure of?

    or have you put windows on it???
     
  3. imacintel macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    #3
    Sorry, buddy. This is called a kernel panic.

    It usually indicates something wrong. IF it happens again, call apple.

    Call 1-800-MY-APPLE
     
  4. cardude280 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Location:
    West Virginia
    #4
    ok thanks.
    no i didnt install winblows but i did install limewire which i wasint sure of i know it messes up windows
    Should i uninstall it
     
  5. yankeefan24 macrumors 65816

    yankeefan24

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    Did it happen when you first opened limewire. If so, then yes, uninstall it. If not, or if the program was not open when the panic happened, it is unlikely the cause.
     
  6. cardude280 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Location:
    West Virginia
  7. elisha cuthbert macrumors 6502a

    elisha cuthbert

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #7
    just as a point of intrest DONT USE LIMEWIRE i used to use it and it was nothing but trouble for me, and ,other that porn, its one of the most common virus spreaders at my school. find a different program! if you want to send money get Acquisition i used it for a while and it was great.
     
  8. imacintel macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    #8
    It messes up windows because of viruses and spyware. There is no spyware or viruses for the mac. Really

    NO VIRUSES!:)
     
  9. cardude280 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Location:
    West Virginia
    #9
    ok thanks for you very quick help and now the limewire is gone
     
  10. elisha cuthbert macrumors 6502a

    elisha cuthbert

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #10
    good, now you can start the search for a new p2p program that has an intel version that "just" works
     
  11. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003

Share This Page