OSX thinks mozilla download is an excel file

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by cheerios60, Sep 15, 2005.

  1. cheerios60 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    #1
    I tried to download mozilla. It got to my desktop okay, but the icon is an excel file and excel tries to open it and then it's a bunch of gobbledygook. I tried "open with: stuffit expander" but nothing happens. Any ideas?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. gekko513 macrumors 603

    gekko513

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    #2
    What is the full name of the file? Are you sure that you downloaded the Mac version?
     
  3. Linkjeniero macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    #3
    what's the extension of the file?
     
  4. wrxguy macrumors 6502a

    wrxguy

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Location:
    Deepest Regions of Hell
    #4
    yea a little more info...it sounds like either you didnt' download the mac version of it, or the download itself is corrupt....maybe try redownloading or just changing the extention
     
  5. tobefirst macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #5
    I agree with the previous posters, just changing the extension would probably work. Sometimes things just don't download correctly. Just add/change .dmg to the end of the name and it SHOULD be good to go. Otherwise, perhaps it didn't download all the way.
     
  6. cheerios60 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    #6
    I feel like an idiot. I changed the extension and yep, it did fine. I didn't know you could do that, actually--don't download much. Thanks so much for all the quick replies!
     
  7. iEdd macrumors 68000

    iEdd

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    You downloaded it with IE, didn't you?
    I did that and got weird crap, then tried safari and it worked :)
     
  8. pcdoctor macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    #8
    I'm a mac newbie.
    I don't own a mac but someday hope to.
    At work I was using Safari and the same thing happened to me.
    I changed the extension also.
     

Share This Page