OSX won't boot after using Gparted

Discussion in 'iMac' started by joeholl1979, Jan 31, 2013.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    #1
    I have Windows 7 on a Bootcamp partition, and ended up running out of space; so I figured I'd us Gparted to resize the partitions.
    When I booted GParted off of my disk drive, it wouldn't even let me resize my OSX partition because it didn't recognize the file format...so I shut down and attempted to log into OSX, only to get the prohibitory sign.
    I had to use the disk repair utility when I booted into Windows.
    I attempted to start OSX in safe mode, but it didn't work.
    This is my first Mac computer, and I just bought it a couple weeks ago (new 27")

    SOMEONE PLEASE HELP! ImageUploadedByTapatalk1359663149.015371.jpg
     
  2. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    #2
    Oh, and I also reset the PRAM
     
  3. macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #3
    Sounds like a hot mess.

    Try the recovery partition (command-r) on reboot.

    Reformat, restore from backup and reinstall Windows.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    #4
    I'm not sure what I did wrong...I didn't think I did anything at all in GParted. I'll never use that software again.
     
  5. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #5
    Have you looked at the FAQ?

    I've never used GParted myself, but it looks like that command or rEFIt app may be able to fix it. Of course, it would help if the FAQ actually listed the symptoms so that we'd know whether that's the problem or not!
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    #6
    Ugggh. If I would have known it was going to be that technical, I would have passed. I've already re-installed OSX and will be downloading my backed up files from CrashPlan.com over the next few days. I definitely regret using GParted.

    ----------

    Now here is my next question. I re-installed OSX and recovered my Windows Bootcamp partition; but now it says that my OSX partition is 1TB and my Windows partition is 100GB.

    Last time I checked, I started out with only a 1TB hard drive.

    Why is it doing this?

    ----------

    I may not have articulated the problem well. What I mean is that my OSX partition says there is like 975GB of space available, and I am using 98GB on my Bootcamp partition...so it equals out to over 1TB of space.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Location:
    Cape Cod, MA
    #7
    do you have the fusion drive?
     
  8. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    #8
    Yes, but it's only supposed to total 1TB of space, right?
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Location:
    Cape Cod, MA
    #9
    no



































    it is a 128GB SSD added to a 1TB HDD... or 1.128 TB... the space on the SSD is in addition to the spinner...
     
  10. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    #10
    Screen Shot 2013-02-01 at 12.37.29 AM.png

    Okay, all I know is that I have the following partitions now:

    Macintosh HD: Capacity 1.02TB, 115KB Available

    Macintosh HD: Capacity 1.01TB, 975GB Available

    BOOTCAMP: Capacity 102GB, 4.25GB Available

    I'm very confused at this point, and I just wish I could figure out how to get my hard drive back to the way it was. It used to say that my OSX partition had like over 800GB available, and that made sense because I allocated 100GB to the Bootcamp partition.
     
  11. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #11
    Don't have a clue, I'm afraid. GParted probably has no idea how to handle a fusion drive which would explain a lot, but not having one myself I couldn't say how to fix this :(
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Location:
    Cape Cod, MA
    #12
    Don't confuse the disk Macintosh HD: Capacity 1.02TB, 115KB Available

    With the partition Macintosh HD: Capacity 1.01TB, 975GB Available

    also the hidden recovery partition takes some space...

    it could mean the partition tables are borked

    have you tried verify disk?
     
  13. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    #13
    I just bought Camptunes X and it would only recognize a very small OSX partition and the Bootcamp partition. It looks like I'm having a stroke of bad luck.
     

Share This Page