Out of range monitor

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by 2020 media, Oct 9, 2005.

  1. 2020 media macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    #1
    was diddling around with the screen resolution... changed it... screen went black and now says out of range... tried CONTROL + OPTION + P + R to reset PRAM... also powered down... unplugged all... nothing works! :confused: last time this happened plugged in an old CRT monitor and set back to the higher resolution then replugged the SONY 17" flat screen -- and viola! but do not have that CRT
    here now :( -- any recommendations? what to do - thanks!
     
  2. skubish macrumors 68030

    skubish

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #2
    Try booting in safe mode?
    hold down shift after the bong.
    It should drop down to a standard resolution. Then you can login and change it.
     
  3. 2020 media thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    #3


    thanks -- but no good. gotta go find a CRT monitor so I can change it back. what a pain
     
  4. skubish macrumors 68030

    skubish

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #4
  5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #5
    Yes, I would be surprised if the problems bothered you very much after spending some quality time with the bong. :eek: ;) :D

    2020, what kind of screen do you have anyway? What happens if you unplug it and plug it back in, while the Mac's running? I don't usually even get options outside of the monitor's capability in MacOS.... :(
     
  6. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #6
    On some machines, booting and holding down Command-Shift-N-V works. Can't remember which though.
    Or boot with no monitor plugged in at all, shut down with the power button, restart with your monitor plugged in.
    Or shut down and remove the motherboard PRAM battery for 20+ minutes (depending on the model of Mac).

    Knowing what Mac you have would go a long way to helping us help you...
     

Share This Page