Over-The-Air Software Update Saves 700MB of Downloading

Discussion in 'iOS Blog Discussion' started by MacRumors, Jul 22, 2011.

  1. MacRumors
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    iOS 5 Beta 4 is the first software update to be downloadable using Apple's new over-the-air updating system. As noted by @iam_lost, "iOS 5 beta 4 over-the-air update is a mere 133 MB, compared to the chunky 824 MB .ipsw file."

    [​IMG]


    The over-the-air software update only downloads code that has changed or been updated in the update, thus making for a much smaller download. In this case, 691 MB smaller.

    Article Link: Over-The-Air Software Update Saves 700MB of Downloading
     
  2. TvdW
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    #2
    Sounds good but so far I haven't seen anyone who got OTA updating to work yet.
     
  3. Mitchelino
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #3
    Great for people with slower internet, such as myself :)
     
  4. mikefla
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    #4
    I just did it. Works fine and it's fast. I guess Apple has those Data Centers cooking at full speed. Very nice. Kudos to them!

    -Mike
     
  5. crisss1205
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    crisss1205

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    I have, "< 1 minute remaining"
     
  6. Steve J0bs
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando
    #6
    Mine is already downloaded, took 5 minutes. In the orlando area.
     
  7. Mlrollin91
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura
    #7
    And its still 133MB? Wow.. Can you do it over 3G and WiFi? I feel bad for whoever is updating without unlimited if it works on 3G.
     
  8. titof
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    #8
    I only get an unable to check for update Error
     
  9. lolnick
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
  10. wordoflife
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #10
    This is a nice feature. I'd probably still do it from my computer anyways. I assume it would be faster.
     
  11. P Mentior
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #11
    I just checked again and now it finds the update. working on both iPad 2 Wi-Fi and iPhone 4 GSM
     
  12. acslater017
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    #12
    Sweet. Between OTA updates, Wi-Fi Sync, and iCloud, sooo many of the everyday iPhone hassles will be taken care of. Can't wait to see what Apple's got in store for September - I'm still holding out hopes for some great voice activation features!
     
  13. davie18
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    #13
    Somehow I doubt it'd be quicker to download 824mb from your computer than 133mb from your iphone.
     
  14. Dr Kevorkian94
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    SI, NY
    #14
    it won't work for me i just get a message saying: an error occurred while checking for software updates. cancel/ try again :(
     
  15. Sjhonny
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Location:
    The land of the cucumbers
    #15
    How about a double post ^o) ...

    133 MB ... that's like a regular OS X update! Hope this will not be the case with regular updates ...
     
  16. DB2k
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    #16
    mine is on that has been for a while
    rebooting. will try again see what happens
     
  17. dscuber9000
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana, US
    #17
    That's really cool. I wonder why this isn't somehow possible on the computer if it knows what the currently installed OS is?
     
  18. bettaboy123
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Location:
    Michigan
    #18
    Lol I know right! I would only do it over Wifi, and I have 25Mbps internet, so the download would take just minutes. Wayy better than doing a full sync with your computer after downloading an 824 MB file from the internet. 133 MB is much (!) better.
     
  19. macduke
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    macduke

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    Central U.S.
    #19
    My OTA update took awhile to recognize, but now it's chugging along!

    I thought I read that support for OTA updates were first included in beta 2. I kept my iPad 2 on beta 2 because Safari was so crash happy on my iPhone and my wife often uses the iPad as her primary internet device when at home. But no dice on trying the update this time. It just says:

    "Unable to check for update. An error occured while checking for software updates."

    So I guess if my iPhone is working ok then I'll update my iPad to beta 3 and then OTA update it?
     
  20. Beaverman3001
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
  21. swinneyn
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    swinneyn

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #21
    glad to see I'm not the only one encountering difficulties... Been stuck at "<1 minute remaining" for about 15 minutes, the phone rebooted itself at one point but apparently has not updated.
     
  22. funjon
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    funjon

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    #22
    Restore from iCloud... isn't :(

    Looks like Restore from iCloud isn't working... my iPad 2 is stuck at logging in. And my iPhone 4 is stuck at <1 minute remaining on the OTA update.
     
  23. ny3ranger
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #23
    I got that the first time. I also plugged it in the second time. Try that.

     
  24. unlinked
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Location:
    Ireland
    #24
    Great for everyone really.
     
  25. TrickyRick
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #25
    It said in the patch notes not to use that as a backup for "critical data". Guess that's why.
     

Share This Page