Pairing Apple Remote

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by lonepilgrim, May 10, 2006.

  1. lonepilgrim macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #1
    I'm sure this belongs in the Peripherals section, but I'm posting in here as I believe more people might see it.

    Has anyone managed to successfully pair their Apple remote with their Mac? The Apple support pages say to hold down the Menu and Next/FF buttons simultaneously for 5 seconds, whereupon some kind of lock icon will appear. Nothing of the sort - it doesn't appear to work at all.

    Anyone else had any luck?
     
  2. Josias macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #2
    D'ya mean that Apple Remote that is acessory with the iPod? I am aware you have a FrontRow mac, but if you're gonna use the ipod remote and a non frontrow mac, you cannot, since they do not have an infared apadter.
     
  3. lonepilgrim thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Sorry if I didn't make myself clear from my post. I am trying to pair one Apple Remote with my iMac, and another with my MBP, so they don't trigger each other.
     
  4. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #4
    Are you using an admin account? It seems to me that you need to be logged on as an admin.

    I was pissed by this myself ... I couldn't get my frontrow remote to pair with my iMac no matter how close I held them, or how hard I pressed the remote buttons. Then a little light went on over my head and I did it while logged onto my admin account, and it worked first time.

    Apple should really document this.
     
  5. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #5
    Agreed. Despite the obvious security risk, Apple assumes all users are an admin when they document procedures. :rolleyes: And they make it non-obvious at times how to do admin things in a non-admin account (i.e., things just don't work instead of asking for an admin account password).
     

Share This Page