PAL camcorder but NTSC output?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by PkennethV, Mar 10, 2007.

  1. PkennethV macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Toronto
    #1
    I have a camcorder that was bought in Thailand (used to live there) and in the manual it says that it records in PAL (makes sense). Now that I'm in Canada how (if it is possible) do I make the final DVD NTSC so that it will play in players here? I don't mind using iMovie if but I want to try using FCP (which I have just very recently got a hold of). How do I manage this?

    Oh and also it would be great if i was able to burn the DVD using iDVD rather than DVD Studio Pro because that would be alot for me to learn in one go.

    One last thing I want to ask is have I got this all wrong? Does NTSC and PAL only refer to the tape that the camcorder records to and does not effect the output? So once I import it I can just burn it to which ever NTSC, or PAL? (Best case senario)
     
  2. -DH macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Location:
    Nashville Tennessee
    #2
    Both NTSC and PAL are television standards; NTSC being based on 60 cycle AC current and PAL on 50 cycle AC current. The other differences include frame rate and pixel dimension.

    To convert from one to the other, you have several options - one of the best is the Nattress Standards Conversion plugin found here: http://www.nattress.com/Products/standardsconversion/standardsconversion.htm

    If you want to use FCP to edit and iDVD for authoring the DVD, export a fully rendered self-contained movie from FCP (File->Export->QuickTime Movie) at your current settings, then use the resulting file in iDVD.

    -DH
     
  3. PkennethV thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Toronto
    #3
    As for chapter markers...would I have to import them into iMovie to add them? I would think that the chapter markers made in FCP would be left out when exported as a Quicktime video. Maybe I should take some time to see if I would be able to learn DVD studio quick enough...
     
  4. -DH macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Location:
    Nashville Tennessee
    #4
    In the export window there's a drop down menu to include chapter markers.

    -DH
     
  5. wbhambone macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Wales
    #5
    DH - do you know if the Nattress plugin works with FCE HD (v. 3.0). I looked through the information at the link you provided but couldn't find anything.

    Thanks.
    bh
     
  6. Rod Rod macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #6
    Chapter markers are preserved if you use JES Deinterlacer.
    http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/13069

    Here's a how-to which is iMovie-centric but applicable for QuickTime movies.
    http://www.danslagle.com/mac/iMovie/tips_tricks/6017.shtml
     

Share This Page