Panasonic Camcorder Problems

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by novice2005, Jul 17, 2005.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    #1
    Hi, I have aquired a Panasonic NV-GS75 Camcorder. I was told it was Mac compatible but the software supplied is for PC only. There does not appear to be a firewire port on the camera and my Powerbook did not recognise the USB 2 connection. Is this camera compatible with Mac? If so, what do I need?

    Can anyone help?
     
  2. macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    Welcome to the Forum

    For best results, only post in one place :)

    Four posts: here, here, here, and here

    I'm sure someone will be along shortly to help you with your problem

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Mydriasis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    #3
    I am sure that the GS75 has a firewire output, I only have the GS250 but I know for sure that the GS65 has a firewire output. Panasonic calls it mini DV or just DV output...it does not look like the normal firewire port on your mac...its more like a square U shape. Check under the display. If you have iMovie, FCE or FCP you can controll the camcorder from your mac (in the VCR or VTR mode). You can even use the camera as a web cam through iChat (in the normal recording mode, you dont have to press record though). Or try the mirror widget.

    The software supplied by Pana does not work a mac... but you wont need it. Even iMovie is better.

    Have Fun
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Mydriasis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    #4
    Here I got this off a great website
    www.camcorderinfo.com
    this is only the GS 65 but here labeled as DV... thats your firewire port.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    #5
    Panasonic Camcorder Problems

    Thanks, that's a great help. I was confused because a firewire cable was not supplied with the camera and I'm new to all this. Should my Mac recognise firewire when connected? Is it then easy to upload films onto iMovie?

    Much obliged
     
  6. macrumors demi-god

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6
    Yes, if iMovie is open and you connect a camera via firewire iMovie should "see" the camera and you can start digitizing the footage. You'll need a 4-to-6 pin firewire cable (it's big on one end and little on the other).


    Lethal
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    #7
    If you need to buy a cable, check out ebay. I just bought one for my new sony for about $10 shipped. Looked in stores and firewire cables can go for $25-$40 :eek:
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    wiseguy27

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    I got some pretty good Belkin PureAV 4-6 pin cables for around $17 from buy.com (and from some other stores as well). I thought, "why skimp on the cable after spending a lot on the camcorder?" :D
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    MacFan25863

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #9

    Cable quality shouldn't matter on a digital connection...you should get the same picture quality from a $17 dollar cable as a $75 cable...unless the cable itself is defective (bad connector, etc)..right?
     
  10. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #10
    looks like this was answered, but year, this should solve your problem. Forget included software. It will work fine with imovie.
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    wiseguy27

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #11
    I guess it also depends on the quality of shielding (and the amount of interference it can prevent) - there is a limit to error correction.
     

Share This Page