panther and powerbooks

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Heart Break Kid, Jul 4, 2003.

  1. Heart Break Kid macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Location:
    Toronto
    #1
    has any1 tried to run panther on a 17" PB? does the illuminated keyboard still work?
     
  2. mnkeybsness macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #2
    i'm sure it will...i assume that the illuminated keyboard is a hardware feature that the OS has no control over. and even if the OS did control it, apple would not just go ahead and disable that feature in a new OS.
     
  3. Heart Break Kid thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Location:
    Toronto
    #3
    just asking cuz my friend who has panther said that the illuminated keyboard did not work after he upgraded

    hes a developer - not a bit torrent dl'r - not that im judging or anything

    is any1 else having problems with the illuminated keyboard? he claimed that it was not even in the system prefs under keyboards like in jag
     
  4. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #4
    yes it is a hardware feature....controlled by software. that is why there are 3 buttons to control it on the keyboard. and from me using it it does not work anymore in panther. i wouldnt upgrade to panther anyways HBR. it is basically jaguar with expose. your computer is plenty fast and you will probably not notice a speed bump and its not worth the trouble panther can cause.

    iJon
     
  5. Heart Break Kid thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Location:
    Toronto
    #5
    i totally agree

    my friend offered me the cd and i was like - forget it , i know misery loves company, but no way! ive already had my 10 min of fun with expose on his 17" PB

    =)

    though i am lookin fwd to the public release

    got my 129 waiting in hand
     
  6. Catfish_Man macrumors 68030

    Catfish_Man

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2001
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    ROFL

    Maybe not much of a speed bump, but it fixes 3 of my 4 biggest issues with jag, and a ton I hadn't thought of yet. It's a nice upgrade.
     
  7. Eslyjah macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    #7
    I can confirm that the Developer Release of Panther disables keyboard backlighting on the 17in Powerbook. It also seems to disable automatic screen brightness calibration.

    The new toned-down Aqua revisions are nice. Exposé is pretty nifty, and file searches in the finder are blazing fast. I haven't been using it for very long, but it seems relatively stable and I don't think much else is broken.

    The upgrade process is pretty simple. No need to lose any of your files. I wouldn't recommend using Panther on any business computers, but if you're curious and have a machine primarily for personal use, I don't think there is any reason to fear giving it a shot.
     
  8. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #8
    I should like to remind everyone that as Eslyjah says, this feature does not work on the Developer Release.

    There is always broken stuff in developer releases. These early releases are made for two reasons:
    1. To discover and allow bugs in the OS release to be fixed.
    2. To allow developers to get their software and/or hardware working with the new OS release.
      [/list=1]Like early Jaguar releases that had broken features, I'm sure that the broken features in Panther will be fixed.

      If you have Panther developer release legally, you should be looking at the appropriate Apple website to check for known issues and reporting them if they aren't listed. I know for a fact that apple has a discussion site for developers. That is where questions like these should be asked when working with unreleased software.

      If you don't have it legally, well you shouldn't whine about broken features. Nor should you whine if you wind up having to reinstall Mac OS on your computer.

      For a while after Jaguar was released people were still asking questions about features that were broken in early releases. At this point I can see a flurry of posts saying "Is this feature [still] broken in Panther?"
     
  9. MacBoyX macrumors 6502

    MacBoyX

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    #9
    Let's keep in mind here folks that it's a BETA! It's not intended to work perfectly. You will have some things that just don't work.

    iJon,

    I disagree...it's certainly going to be worth upgrading when the final release comes out. Expose is worth the 129 IMO, and I think that the finder searches and the SMB browsing are awesome. I also really like the Fast User Switching on my iMac since I share it with my boyfriend.

    Panther rocks...and I don't mind shelling out my 200 bucks for 5 licenses to cover all the Macs in my house/family.

    On a side note (read SOAP BOX). As a person who used to compute with the Dark Side (M$), I don't mind Apple's OS pricing for the following reasons:

    1. In the 2 upgrades I bought for OS X I still haven't paid as much for ONE full license of XP Pro.

    2. I like having new features and speed added yearly not once every 3-4 years like M$.

    Just my opinion...I could be wrong :)

    MacBoyX
     

Share This Page