Panther expose performance?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by pagemap, Aug 6, 2003.

  1. pagemap macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    #1
    How well will Expose run on these specs:

    G3 700
    640MB Ram
    16MB ATI video card

    BTW how do I tell what model of video card I have?
     
  2. mrjamin macrumors 65816

    mrjamin

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Location:
    Strongbadia
    #2
    Re: Panther expose performance?

    Is it an iBook? if so i expect it'll be a Mobility Radeon 7500 if it was bought from the last quarter of last year.

    As for the performace: i couldn't tell you - there are a fair few panther beta users around so i expect someone will be running it on a machine similar to yours - just a case of wait and see...
     
  3. Powerbook G5 macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #3
    It'd definitely run a lot better than on my 400 MHz G3 with 192 megs RAM and 8 meg ATI card :)
     
  4. ibookin' macrumors 65816

    ibookin'

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #4
    It runs like buttah on my iBook 800 with a 32MB Radeon 7500. It runs like crap on my my friends iBook 500 with an 8MB Rage 128. Runs slightly worse than my iBook on an iMac G4 700 with a 32MB GeForce 2MX.

    Basically, if you want it to have good performance you need Quartz Extreme. Since you have QE, it should run fine.
     
  5. benixau macrumors 65816

    benixau

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #5
    ok - i will tell you - a 32MB GF4MX kills it.
    a G4 400 PB (pismo) w/hacked QE runs it ok but it isnt as smooth and it stops updating the screens during the resize but resumes it once they are in their small size or back to big again.

    It wont be as sweet as on saaaay a DP2G but then nither will my DP1G be that smooth. still - do it run panther? Can you hack it to QE? Then you are ok - as mentioned before - it mainly relies on Q/QE. The more QE you got the better you are.
     
  6. sparkleytone macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #6
    it runs fine on my iBook 600 with 8MB VRAM. I haven't noticed any bad performance or lag, and i have no QE at all.
     
  7. benixau macrumors 65816

    benixau

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #7
    oops - had keynote running when i did those things - havent got pb to try without - but it should be ok
     

Share This Page