Panther for all Pro Audio Users

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by thumper, Oct 26, 2003.

  1. macrumors 6502

    thumper

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    Under the Sea
    #1
    ok, Logic 6 crashes my computer and forces me to restart.

    Protools like my last post, wont play back i dont know why.

    toast and jam quit/wont start up.

    maybe apple should of warned all audio users NOT to install Panther!

    i think i have to reformat into 10.2.8
    i need these programs
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Location:
    PA
    #2
    It's not apple's fault... It's not their job to make sure All third party apps work on the new os....Yes i know they are some pretty popular apps. but it sill is not apple's fault. Every OS has the possibilty to break programs it is the developers job to make sure patches are released
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
  4. macrumors 65816

    alset

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Location:
    East Bay, CA
    #4
    Update to Logic 6.3. Then you can also demo Space Designer for 28 days. Check your Audio/MIDI setup and see that your drivers are properly configured. Get updates from DigiDesign.

    Toast works fine for me. Logic loads and plays all my tracks - softsynths and external MIDI synths. Even Reason pulled off without a hitch. I don't have PT, so you're on your own with that.

    Good luck.
    Dan
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    #5
    I had the same problem with 6.3.
    You have to reinstall XSkey drivers.
    hope it helps...
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6
    I am currently running 10.2.8, but am reluctant to upgrade to Panther for these same reasons.

    Digidesign is claiming a mid-November release for Panther support for PT6.

    http://www.digidesign.com/news/details.cfm?story_id=537

    Is it worth risking Panther now?? Mid-November seems like a long way off right now, but I suppose I should wait.

    Does Reason currently work with Panther?
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    baby duck monge

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #7
    there was a thread a few days ago about toast, anyway. are you running the most recent version? if not, update, and it should work (free download)
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central NY
    #8
    Actually Apple owns emagic - who make Logic - so I don't know that they are a 3rd party company.

    I personally have had no problems with Logic.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Location:
    PA
    #9
    I stand corrected...wow...i really thought i would be able to come up with something that would make me look a little less stupid....but no oh well
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    g30ffr3y

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    buffalo ny
    #10
    i run reason 2.5 and it works fine, but i am a little miffed about pro tools 6 suport being proposed for mid november... i guess i should investigated before installing, i am too attached to the black cat now to go back... uck... ill just wait it out... lets hope mid november means MID NOVEMBER and not 2004...
     
  11. macrumors 68020

    howard

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    #11
    anyone use it with digital performer?


    jeez i'm surprised logic crashes...seeing as how that is owned by apple
     

Share This Page