panther for G3 PB?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by mms, Oct 8, 2003.

  1. mms
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    CA
    #1
    I have a Lombard (also known as the Bronze Keyboard model) G3 PB. I'm running OS 9 right now but I'd like to use OS X on it. The question is, will it be able to run Panther without problems?
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    #2
    It seems like Panther will install on the Lombard seeing that it both has built-in USB & utilizes the the NewWorld ROM (Rom into RAM).

    I imagine that two issues will be;

    -No Graphics Acceleration (Same issue with Jaguar)
    -No DVD Player support (Due to Lombards Hardware DVD Decoder being unsupported, even now)

    So, no better suppport than what is currently supported by Jaguar (should run quicker though), but still it's most likely meet the criterior to install Panther. I'd max out the RAM to 512mb before using OS X at all on the Lombard, that'll ease the performance hit it will take due to the lack of Altivec, Quartz Extreme Enabled GPU, CPU speed...etc.

    p'z
     
  3. mms
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    CA
    #3
    I don't mind not having DVD because I have a separate DVD player. But will the lack of graphics acceleration be a problem?
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    #4
    Well, a problem for playing Quicktime multimedia files & games......... it may slow down the GUI as well, not sure.
     
  5. mms
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    CA
    #5
    So without graphics acceleration I won't be able to play videos and games at all? Or will I still be able to, just with worse graphics?
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    XnavxeMiyyep

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Washington
    #6
    The genie effect when you minimize will look choppy, and things like that on your Lombard. Extra RAM can help fix that though. Other than that, Panther runs around the same speed as OS 9 on most G3's, sometimes even faster.
     
  7. mms
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    CA
    #7
    The genie effect and those other little visual effects could be turned off easily though, right?
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    XnavxeMiyyep

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Washington
    #8
    The genie effect can be turned to the scale effect, and other than that, Panther should run fine on your Lombard.
     
  9. mms
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    CA
    #9
    Everyone thanks for their input. A couple more questions...

    How much RAM should I have?

    To run Classic, what do I need? OS 9.1 or 9.2.2? I have 9.0 running right now. And do I really need Classic if I have OS X? It should work fine without it so I'm not sure if I should bother with it.
     
  10. macrumors 68030

    Catfish_Man

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2001
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #10
    You don't need Classic, and Classic requires 9.2.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    simX

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #11
    Actually, Classic only requires 9.1 (same requirement for Panther, AFAIK). But it's probably best to upgrade to 9.2.2 anyway.
     
  12. mms
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    CA
    #12
    Other than more support for OS X, what is different in 9.2.2 from 9.1? And all the updates are free as long as you have 9.0 right?
     

Share This Page