panther & fw

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by gandalf55, Jul 1, 2003.

  1. gandalf55 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2001
    Location:
    boston
    #1
    all of the sudden after 2 days, panther refuses to mount or see any firewire devices. still sees usb fine.

    so no ipod, no isight, no external drive.

    i repaired permissions, etc. i can't figure out whats happening - but it just doesn't see FW devices anymore.
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    I installed over Jaguar and get this. Try pluging in the Firewire devices you want and rebooting (not a good solution). This enabled me to use my iPod.

    Unfortunatly this is what you can expect from pre-beta software!
     
  3. gandalf55 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2001
    Location:
    boston
    #3
    tried rebooting with the FW devices plugged in. tried without and plugging in after restart too. nothing yet.
     
  4. mnkeybsness macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #4
    be aware that it may not be just panther causing the problems, your ports may have gone bad.
     
  5. gandalf55 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2001
    Location:
    boston
  6. gandalf55 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2001
    Location:
    boston
    #6
    i go to sys profiler and get nothing under the firewire tab. blanko.
     
  7. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #7
    I would suggest running the hardware test CD that should have come with your Mac. It does sound rather like your ports (or more likely the contoller chip) are cooked. :(
     
  8. MacBoyX macrumors 6502

    MacBoyX

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    #8
    My iBook won't see my other iBook in FW Disk mode and my iMac spontaneously forgets the FW Drive I have permanently attached.

    Rebooting brings it back as does cycling power on the FW Drive.

    I will test with my iPod later today.

    MacBoyX
     
  9. gandalf55 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2001
    Location:
    boston
    #9
    ok the logic board failed 2x using the test CD - the third time passed. i rebooted - went to system specs thing - no firewire showing. i plugged in isight - all of the sudden i can mount FW devices again....

    weird!
     
  10. MacBoyX macrumors 6502

    MacBoyX

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    #10
    Just a quick update...all my FW devices are working great. FW HDs (2 of em) and my iBot, and my iPod.

    Gandalff glad to hear you are having less trouble today :D

    MacBoy X
     

Share This Page