Panther Location Manager

Discussion in 'Mac Blog Discussion' started by MacRumors, May 26, 2003.

  1. macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Location:
    Denmark
    #2
    Automatic location switching

    Automatic location switching based on eg. accessible airport networks would be great.

    This way, my PowerBook would be able to sense that I'm at home or at school, and switch the location accordingly.

    I hope they implement functionality like this, but even if they don't, It'll be good to have the OS9-style location manager back.
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    #3
    Agreed. This would be simple to implement and yet useful. I'm all in favor for it. (The auto-switching as well, by the way...)
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    Snowy_River

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    Corvallis, OR
    #4
    (Disclaimer: I'm currently stuck in OS9, and haven't been able to play in OS X for about a month, so everything I have to say is from memory of a year and a half working and playing in OS X.)

    Okay, I'm not sure I understand what the issue is with a Mac OS 9-like Location Manager. While I do agree that an auto-detect system is an intriguing idea that I really like, much of the capabilities of the Location Manager already exist in OS X. Isn't there a 'Location' menu item in the Apple menu?


    34...
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    Kwyjibo

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    #5
    I would like it to be an option in the finder if you like. often times I take my iBook fro mthe airport network and hook it up to my xbox and then i need to go in and switch off airport and change the connection type to DHCP using manual IP rather than jsut DHCP. And if i want to go back to airport i have to undo it all. I was actually looking for a "location manager" app with little luck.
     
  6. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
  7. macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #7
    A software set that is supposed to change all of your network (and some other) settings for a laptop-- so you can tell it you're at home, and you can access your cable modem and have volume at high, and at work it can access the 802.11b network with volume muted. you get the idea... it never really worked that well for me, at least under 9-- it forgets a lot of the settings.

    pnw
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC CANADA
    #8
    OS X already does this

    You can already do exactly what you describe using the Network preference pane. Create one location with the settings for your Airport network, then create a new location with the settings for your xbox, and then it's just a matter of choosing the appropriate location from the Location menu under the Apple menu. :) Hope that helps.
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC CANADA
    #9
    Or another description would be... a mechanism to maintain various settings based on "where" you are using your computer. Switching locations automatically changes all of your settings... network settings, etc.
     
  10. macrumors 68040

    Kwyjibo

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    #10
    Re: OS X already does this

    thats what I do right now but its a hassle I would like to be able to change these locations much easier. I don't keep preferences in my dock so i have to open applictions then preferences then netowrk then switch then apply. It would be much cooler to be able to have a menu like the airport one where i could click a new location and all the setting would change. I know i don't have to mess with the DHCP options but usually it re-intializes the airport faster if it stays on the one location.
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Location:
    Brussels, Belgium, Europe
    #11
    Re: Re: OS X already does this

    Kwyjibo: what did you smoke? The man exactly answered your question:
     
  12. macrumors 68040

    Kwyjibo

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    #12
    Ok ummm no he didn't.
    1) It was never a question, it was a complaint a hassle that I experience.

    By advanced location management, i would expect the process to simplify a bit too like as simple as it is to switch to a different airport network....in the finder if possible....one click......

    Ok i'm going to explain this again.
    To switch your location in jaguar I need to open up Macintosh HD, then click applications then click preferences, then I can assign a new location like xbox for my xbox settings or homeNetwork for my home settings or school for my school settings. This is very simple, and it is what he meant. Then once you select that you hit apply. then you close the window and do whatever you need to do. Then I have to open the hard drive then the applications folder then the preferences then the network tab and switch it back to undo it. then hit apply. All of this so i can transfer one file......What I want is to be able to to easily select the locations i have pre-defined in the settings were talking about and easily switch them with a click or two not like seven. Then switch them back. Its a minor inconvience to do then undo everything under the current method thats why i'm looking for simplification.... I also know when my question has been answered, but i didn't ask a question.
     
  13. macrumors 68030

    Snowy_River

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    Corvallis, OR
    #13
    Re: Re: OS X already does this

    You don't have to do this. There is a menu item under the Apple menu that is 'Location'. It gives you a sub-menu that lists the Locations you have set up in the network prefs. Just pick the one you want to use. Do it from any application. Works like a charm! ;)


    32...
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    houston
    #14
    ok im confused....i take my laptop to school, and it detects and logs onto the wireless network (though to get off campus i need the cisco VPN), then i bring it home and plug it into my router from my DSL and it just works, and then i take it to the coffee shop and use their wireless without problem...

    i never change any settings, ever. So what you guys want seems to be unnecessary...:confused:
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2001
    #15
    Re: Re: OS X already does this

    i think what you are looking for is in the apple menu, right under the Dock menu there's a location menu, you can change locations from there! i if thisn't what you're looking then... sorry!

    thank you
    MaT
     
  16. macrumors 68030

    Snowy_River

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    Corvallis, OR
    #16
    Some people don't have it as easy as you. With my iBook, I only used the Location setting when I travelled, so I could keep local dial-up numbers for different cities in different location set-ups. Others need to have slightly different settings for their different local connections.


    28...
     
  17. macrumors 68040

    Kwyjibo

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    #17
    Re: Re: Re: OS X already does this

    .....when i get my ibook back from applecare i'll try that thank you.
     
  18. macrumors 6502

    F/reW/re

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Location:
    Norway
    #18
    The loaction changer in the Apple menu works great, but I would love to have the same for the energy saver.

    Everytime I'm going to watch a movie (once everydag) I have to open the syspre/enery and change the settings and change it back when the movie is finished.
     
  19. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    #19
    I'd really like a more comprehensive location manager that could (for example) do the following:

    Change default printer based on location (so I can use my printer at home when at home, and work when I'm not)

    Change my dock contents (there are applications I use regularly at home that I don't touch at work, and vice versa)

    Change my login items contents (same as dock above)

    Basically as has been suggested OSX doesn't need location manager as most people understand it (except for people that travel about a lot) but the beauty of OS9's location manager was that you could tie *other* settings to it - the location profiles included other profiles ans switched them all as necessary - something like that would be a welcome reappearance.
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Location:
    Melbourne - Australia
    #20
    xbox?

    dumb question... but what are you doing when you link your ibook to your xbox??
     
  21. macrumors 68030

    Snowy_River

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    Corvallis, OR
    #21
    Yes, I agree. If a more comprehensive Location Manager were implemented, it could be a really good thing for some people. The ability to have it switch time zone, for example, would be a nice thing for me.


    22...
     
  22. macrumors regular

    Maclicious

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Location:
    Seattle
    #22
    Re: xbox?

    I'd like to know too, please :).
     
  23. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    #23
    i actually sent this in to Apple's feedback as a proposed feature... ;-p as i'm sure many others did.

    I do hope that it works the way the article describes it... maybe it is also tied in to the multiple log on w/out log out? Seems likely. There is also the rumor of the re-emergence of themes in an Appearance CP... *crossing fingers* which of course would be integrated into locations as well, I'd presume... along with the Energy Saver Settings, Input/Output devices, Printers, Displays (ambient light isn't the same at home as it is in office), etc. So many wonderful ways to customize my laptop for different locations...

    It's almost like I'd want to have the whole System Preferences app tied to it and be able to pick a location from a menu, then edit all of the Control Panels, pick another location and edit those independently and of course have some sort of Global settings that would become the 'defaults' for all locations.

    my.02
     
  24. macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #24
    One thing that seems to slip everyones mind is that this will probably somehow be very involved with the rumored User Profile Management and its ability to be moved across Macs. To me that would indeed get into the term "Advanced Location Manager'.
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2001
    #25
    Random Cool Idea

    What would it cost to add a 'GPS location reader' (dunno what it's really called) to a laptop... I'm not talking about transmitting a GPS location but just reading 'where I am'.

    Then you could do some really cool stuff with location manager...

    Imagine...

    If I am at location 'x / y' with a radius of 'x feet / yards / etc' then use connection method x first followed by y followed by z else test for next defined location else default to 'modem'.

    GPS might still be too expensive for this now but maybe in a few more years (or less) this would be a great hands off way to work with this kinda stuff.

    Dave
     

Share This Page