Panther messed Help Viewer and files

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by Brl777, Apr 2, 2004.

1. Brl777 macrumors newbie

2. HexMonkey Administrator

HexMonkey

Staff Member

Can you give us some more details please? What do you mean by not working? The more details you give us, the easier it is to find a solution.

Also, have you repaired permissions?

3. Brl777 thread starter macrumors newbie

What I have done so far.

To fix this, I first called AppleCare, and was told to verify disk permissions, repair permissions, then do an archive and reinstall. That did not fix it. I checked some mac help web sites, and they suggested I delete the help files and folders in ~/library/preferences, and empty Trash. That did not fix it. I called Applecare once again, and he said I need to back up, erase and reinstall. I don't want to do that. Surely there is some better work around. Can I get the Help Viewer and files from Jaguar restored? I am new to the mac, and was so happy with Jaguar. I like some of the Panther features, but Appleworks will not run under this os. I appreciate all suggestions.

4. HexMonkey Administrator

HexMonkey

Staff Member

If an archive and install didn't fix it, then I'm pretty sure the problem is in your user's Library folder somewhere. To confirm this, create a new user and see if the problem occurs there (if it does, then I'm stumped). If it doesn't, then use a trial and error method to move folders out of your user's Library folder. Don't delete them, just move the first half to a temporary folder, which will narrow down the source, then have half of the 'corrupt' folders in Library to narrow it down further, and repeat until you've found the source (if the 'corrupt' folder is large, you may want to repeat this for the files inside to find the corrupt file).