Panther on older G3's, anyone done it?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by Earendil, Oct 27, 2003.

  1. Earendil macrumors 68000

    Earendil

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Location:
    Washington
    #1
    I've talked with people that have 10.2.6 running on iMac Rev B's (233mhz G3). And with everyone saying that Panther is supposed to run faster than previous version of X, I'm to assume that it's more optimized and *should* run better on older systems as well.

    But, I'm more inclined to believe real accounts than I am "should be" 's.
    My end product iMac will have 312MB RAM and a 40GB HD(for all the people that will respond telling me it won't run on 4GB HD and 32MB of ram). It has never run OSX, it's going to jump straight from 8.6!! :D

    So has anyone installed Panther on a similar computer? Thoughts on how it runs verses older builds of X, or pre OSX?

    Earendil
    Tyler
     
  2. Taavi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    #2
    Panther worked great on my dad's old clamshell iBook which is 300mhz and only has 192mbs of ram and a 6 gb harddrive. I'd say go for it however you need built-in usb to run panther apple says.
     
  3. Earendil thread starter macrumors 68000

    Earendil

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Location:
    Washington
    #3
    I need USB? Well then thank goodness the iMacs were the first computer to live souly off USB and ditch all other forms of connecters! :D

    Earendil
    Tyler
     
  4. tomf87 macrumors 65816

    tomf87

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    #4
    Anyone figured out why this is? Did they just stop producing drivers for the old ports?
     
  5. Horrortaxi macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    That could be it. Jaguar on a 233 G3 resulted in loss of built-in floppy drive, volume buttons, and ports that aren't USB. If you boot into 9 they all work.
     
  6. pgwalsh macrumors 68000

    pgwalsh

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, Colorado
    #6
    off topic

    Remember when you were trying to find peripherals for the computer? What a pain... I had some audio software that required a Floppy drive and I ended up having to buy two different drives because of compatibility issues. No serial port for old midi controllers. OMG I spent so much time and money trying to get stuff to work. Thank go that's all in the past. ...er I hope.
     
  7. sedarby macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #7
    iMac Rev A (G3 233 Mhz) running Panther

    I have a Rev A Bondi Blue iMac running Panther right now. It is a bit better than Jaguar. Actually, it is quite usable. I was very impressed. Overall for a first release of a major point release I am very impressed. Of course, I am looking forward to running this on a new iMac (1.25 ghz) but for now I am very pleased.:D
     
  8. FlamDrag macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    Western Hemisphere
    #8
    I have a Pismo running 10.2.8; Can anyone relate and provide info on Panhter on a similar system?
     
  9. pottsro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    Portland
    #9
    Just loaded Panther on my Wallstreet G3 500. Upgrade smooth. Had trouble with networked printers - had to delete then add. Also noted that MS Office v.X (Word and PP) crashed while Classic running. No crashes after force quit Classic. Seems quicker the Jag, but no tests.

    Ron
     
  10. pgwalsh macrumors 68000

    pgwalsh

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, Colorado
    #10
    Is it quicker because it's new and you're excited or do things really open faster?

    How long does it take for Panther vs Jaguar to boot on a G3?

    Do any apps open faster?
     
  11. WM. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    #11
    Because the presence of USB is indicative of a motherboard with NewWorld ROMs. They've stopped producing drivers for OldWorld motherboards (i.e. beige G3 and Wallstreet PowerBook).

    So I suppose that, in a simplistic fashion, yes, they did stop producing drivers for the old ports. But the new ports (USB) came along with a major change to the motherboard.

    HTH
    WM
     
  12. Le Big Mac macrumors 68020

    Le Big Mac

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #12
    Any reason this wouldn't be true for a 233mhz iBook (assume I jack up the memory)?

    I understand it won't have all the goodies, but it's my mom's, so she won't care. But it would be nice to get us all on the same OS page again.
     
  13. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #13
    You sure on that? My ADB keyboard works just fine on my beige G3. I suppose I'll have to get XPostfacto to install Panther...
     
  14. waxwings macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    #14
    Panther on B&W G3

    I put Panther on my old Yosemite (B&W) G3 with 384MB RAM. It runs great so far, even fixed some issues I'd been having with the system that I was beginning to think were hardware related.

    Under previous versions of OS X, the system wouldn't wake properly from sleep, requiring a restart. More recently, the system wouldn't boot at all, except in Safe Boot mode. Under Panther, both those issues are resolved (though it's just as likely that the problems were solved when I reformatted the drive using the "write zeroes" feature enabled, something you couldn't do under previous versions).
     
  15. robbents99 macrumors regular

    robbents99

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2001
    Location:
    Directly under the sun....now.
    #15

    My pismo was running 10.28 took about 2hrs to installed (took out all the printer and uneed language files.) and it works fine.
     
  16. JetPilot macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Location:
    Los Altos, CA
    #16
    Panther on a Wallstreet?

    pottsro,

    How did you do that? :confused: It's not supposed to run [and according to a friend with one - won't install] on a wallstreet.
     
  17. pgwalsh macrumors 68000

    pgwalsh

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, Colorado
    #17
    Re: Panther on B&W G3

    I had issues with my b/w G3. When waking from sleep mode the screen would become static and I would have to restart. This didn't happen until I put 10.2.8 and it wasn't consistant. The other wierd thing is that the hard drive keeps waking from sleep... I am various curious as to performance on the B/W G3... I did upgrade my system to 800mhz from 400.
     
  18. zen macrumors 65816

    zen

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    #18
    I've installed Panther on my Rev D. iMac (333 Mhz G3, 288 MB RAM, 6 GB HDD, Rage Pro C graphics with 6 MB VRAM).

    I was using the machine fulltime under Jaguar for web, email, word processing and some older games.

    Under Panther things are a little bit faster, but nothing dramatic. It boots a bit quicker, apps launch a fraction faster, menus and finder is a little more responsive.

    However once you get in and start using stuff like Mail, Safari, Word etc there isn't any noticeable difference.

    This machine doesn't support Quartz Extreme so Expose is a little jerky.

    Overall a bit of an anticlimax. Jaguar was quite usable. Panther is a bit faster than Jaguar. A good, soild update with some nice new features, but that's mostly window dressing.

    I did an Archive and Install, without saving previous users/settings.

    I'd say if you can afford it, go for it. If it's a stretch to buy Panther, don't panic too much.

    Zen
     
  19. pgwalsh macrumors 68000

    pgwalsh

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, Colorado
    #19
    Thanks.. This is very honest and about what I expected. I don't have an AGP graphics card either, so I suppose I'll run into like problems. The $65 wont be too bad with the educational discount..
     
  20. mstecker macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #20
    I'm using it on my 400Mhz iMac DV that's found new life in a Marathon iRack DV:

    http://www.marathoncomputer.com/iracdv.html

    512M memory, and it works just fine. It feels faster than 10.2 did (and much faster than the 10.3 prereleases I've been running for a while)
     
  21. pottsro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    Portland
    #21
    Don't know about Wallstreet not accepting Panther. Maybe I have a mutant. It's working - I put exposé through its paces today and was pleased.

    As for speed, the boot is faster, no question. Apps open about the same it seems, but documents are definitely opening faster - particularly big, complex ones in MS Office suite. Can't figure out why I can't see windows servers anymore when I "go to server". Seems I have to know the addresses for everyone of the dang 200 or so of them.
     
  22. JetPilot macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Location:
    Los Altos, CA
    #22
    Do you have a USB card?

    pottsro,

    Are you sure you have a wallstreet? Do you have a USB PC card in the slot?

    The system requirement for Panter says, "built-in USB" whatever that means, and the wallsteet had ADB and no USB port. You could add a USB PC card. Same for my G3 beige DT.
     

Share This Page