Panther on Wallstreet

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by peppz, Jan 7, 2005.

  1. peppz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Location:
    Sweden /Luleå
    #1
    I have read some about installing panther on a wallstreet and the difficulties.
    I have understand that if i only have 96mb ram then i can install it.
    Anyway, it wines about that i have only 96mb memory but i can install it requires a reboot, when it reboot its starts from the cd again and starts the installationsprogram again. If i eject the cd it wount read the harddrive..
    With OS 9.2.1 i have no problem, just install and everything runs smooth.
    I have reset the PMU and PRAM witout results.

    Any ides about what can be wrong?
     
  2. RGunner macrumors 6502a

    RGunner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    Midnight Sun
    #2
    Posted in other thread of yours, but will talk here too.

    Are you using Xpostfacto? If not, you cannot install.
     
  3. peppz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Location:
    Sweden /Luleå
  4. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #4
    Did you manage to get more than 256 color display??
     
  5. peppz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Location:
    Sweden /Luleå
    #5
    Yepp! Millions of colors do i use.
    I had some problems in the beginning because my screen went purple sometimes but i removed å file called "ATIRageProGA.plugin" from.... uhh.. i think from /System/libaries/extensinons/ or something. When i start Panthter it wines about the file... havent had any other problems.
     
  6. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #6
    Your lucky, most people don't get more than 256 colors when running panther on a wallstreet!

    Consider running in thousands instead of millions, the gpu is probably stressed enough...
     
  7. peppz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Location:
    Sweden /Luleå
    #7
    I followed your advice and put down the colors to thousands.. Everything runs smoother now.
    Thakns för the advice ;)
     
  8. peppz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Location:
    Sweden /Luleå
    #8
    Well... my wallstreet have worked ok until today..
    Today i updated the system with some updates from Apple and now i have problems with the graphics, the colors are kind of "blurred" or something..
    The colors are messed up!
    Anyone have a tip how i can fix this?

    I hope you understand... my english isn't really that good ;)
     
  9. peppz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Location:
    Sweden /Luleå
    #9
    Solved it, removed ATIRageProGA.plugin again..
     
  10. mahashel macrumors 6502

    mahashel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Location:
    "the lab"
    #10
    Quick question..

    Peppz,
    Are the contrast and brightness buttons at the base of the LCD hinge on your Wallstreet detected correctly by 10.3?
    I loaded 10.2 on my Wallstreet last night (was a mighty resurrection) and the brightness button works, but contrast button is controlling sound volume.
    The contrast on my display is pretty wacky too.. It frequently goes all-white and I have to re-calibrate the display.
    Just wondering if you're seeing any of this behavior with 10.3. If not, I may have to upgrade from 10.2 to 10.3. :rolleyes:
     
  11. peppz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Location:
    Sweden /Luleå
    #11
    No, i dont have that problem.
    Everything works great :)
     
  12. RacerX macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #12
    Just FYI... the reason that the "contrast" button is controlling the sound is because it is a volume control button. There is no physical contrast control on the Wallstreet series PowerBooks.

    You may want to take a quick look at the user manual before pressing too many other buttons. ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  13. mahashel macrumors 6502

    mahashel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Location:
    "the lab"
    #13
    Ahh.. I suck. ;)
    Pulled the powerbook out of the closet a year after I de-commissioned it, and apparently I need to spend some quality time with it as a 're-acquaintance' exercise. :D
    I'm excited that OSX runs on it at all.
    SO.. good to know that 10.3 doesn't have the bizarro all-white LCD issues.
    Thanks for the info!
     
  14. RacerX macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #14
    Neither does 10.2... I think that is an issue that is unique to your system.

    I've had 10.2 running continuously (24/7) since it was installed on my Wallstreet back on Sept. 18 2002 without any issues like what you have described. This system runs flawlessly. It was only restarted once in calendar year 2004 and has a current uptime of 100 days (and 16 hours).

    There is a very good chance that if you are getting an all-white display that it may be hardware related and not software.
     

Share This Page