Panther via "emulation?"

Discussion in 'macOS' started by mkrishnan, May 1, 2005.

  1. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #1
    Bochs lets a computer emulate an x86 architecture, and for instance, run Windows on a Mac, much like VPC, although slower. I know (or believe?) that on Windows, one can use Bochs to run a second OS under a virtual machine within a computer that is already running on the x86 architecture with more things native and less emulated, allowing one, for instance, to run Linux in a VM environment within Windows, or vice versa.

    Is there anything similar that would let one run Panther inside Tiger? I am starting to wonder if it might be an option for apps like SPSS which have misguided developers who will update them God-knows-when or never....

    I thought I saw something like this once as an option to run YellowDog or somesuch within OS X. Does it exist? I'd think such a VM might not be too painfully slow, and might be good enough to run a legacy app or two? Or am I being too optimistic? :D
     
  2. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #2
    i haven't heard or a program, might as well just create a dual boot system rather than use a virtual machine
     
  3. mkrishnan thread starter Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
    Hmmm...I guess so...but esp, on a notebook with a small HD, that'll be a nuisance. :( At that rate I'll stick with running my one legacy app at the office. It doesn't bother me too much, and I knew it going in, because I hate this app (SPSS) on all platforms and am trying to phase it out of my work, but it's slow going, because it's fairly popular.

    Anyone happen to know, since it'll be relevant either way, just how small a boot partition one would need for Panther, assuming one customizes the install to minimize, and only needs ~250MB of useable free space (aside from the needs of journalling, scratch, etc).
     
  4. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #4
    But then you'd have to reboot instead of just firing up a VM.
     
  5. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #5
    yes, but you wouldnt suffer through emulation, and the speeds would be faster, allowing you to finish sooner :D

    i would think that 10 gigs is what you would need at most for Panther, but im sure that you could trim it down if you wanted to
     
  6. mkrishnan thread starter Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    At this rate, you're going to have me buying a Windows notebook as a second fiddle for stats stuff. :D
     
  7. SnarkMan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    #7
    VNC

    If you have another machine around you could keep Panther on it and use VNC to connect to it from the Tiger machine. The other machine would sort of be your "SPSS Server". Seems like a waste, but it would work.
     
  8. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #8

    about the dual boot, i would think that you could get by with having 5 gigs set aside for it if you wanted, maybe a bit less if you only install the essentials
     
  9. mkrishnan thread starter Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #9
    Hmmm...could be an excuse to get a cube...someone is selling one on MR for a fairly good price...hmm...*snaps out of it*. No. Must spend all available money either on designer clothing or lenses for my Rebel. :D
     
  10. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #10
    please go for the lenses!!! ;) :p :D
     

Share This Page