Parallels 8 for $34.40 (Hurry)

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by sqa4life, Feb 15, 2013.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    #1
  2. macrumors 65816

    designs216

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Down the rabbit hole
    #2
    Now you tell me. I bought it for full price about a month ago.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    #3
    Same here. Freaking $80.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    #4
    sorry to hear that :apple:

    How do you like Parallels 8 so far?
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #5
    With Parallels, what is the difference with OEM vs Retail.

    Thanks,
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #6
    Usually OEM software is sold with hardware, and usually at a lower price than retail. Some OEM software, such as Windows, can only be activated on the original machine it's installed on.

    This special aside, who would pay $80 for an OEM copy of Parallels 8, when a full retail box can be bought from Bestbuy for $70?
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    Duff-Man

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    #7
    Duff-Man says...while the software *is* in fact quite good and I've been a user since v1, paying full price is almost unheard of given the number of times they have offered deals (macupdate bundles, sales, deal of the day etc etc)...always pays do do your homework a little before paying top dollar for something, unless of course you need it right away....oh yeah!
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    #8
    Just bought my first mac in 6 years thanks for the heads up
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    designs216

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Down the rabbit hole
    #9
    This is my first foray into virtualization -- I had always done Bootcamp previously but for some reason my MBP hangs when rebooting into Win7 in clamshell mode. But I digress.

    Parallels seems do do better with more RAM allocated to it. There are also a few little features that attempt to integrate the way one accesses Windows into the OSX interface. I couldn't tell from the reviews which was better VMware or Parallels so I took the recommendation of a friend.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    forza69

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #10
    Just missed it :(
    As a recent Mac owner, I still don't quite understand one part. With Parallels 8, do you still have to have a copy of Windows to install or does the software come with Windows already?
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    You need a separate windows licence.
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    #12
    Yes you need to buy windows too.

    Although I don't use windows much I have used it for torrents and maybe using some software that isn't avail on Mac. It's nice to keep all that kind of stuff away from your mac and if worst comes to worst then you can just delete the virtual machine and start over.

    I use Fusion which does the same thing, but I hear parallels is good too, You can't go wrong with either I think.
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    quietstormSD

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #13
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Location:
    CT
    #14
    macmall has it with a full price rebate, but you have to buy a Mac to go with it! I am still awaiting my money from them.
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    #15
  16. macrumors newbie

    A.Christopher

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #16
    Thanks for the info!
    I ordered a copy and I'm anxious to see how well it runs as I've never used a virtual machine on a mac (just bought my first mac).
     
  17. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #17

Share This Page