Parallels And Boot Camp (one windows license?)

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by karmacoma, Jan 23, 2007.

  1. karmacoma macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    #1
    Hi.

    I've got Boot Camp installed on my MacBook Pro and want to add Parallels so that I can use both.

    Do I need to purchase another license of Windows XP, or can I use the existing license that I've installed on the Boot Camp partition?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #2
    The latest release candidate of Parallels supports using the Boot Camp partition install of XP in the virtual machine environment. Only one license/activation would be required.
     
  3. iKwick7 macrumors 65816

    iKwick7

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Location:
    The Wood of Spots, NJ
    #3
    Seriously? That's awesome! I really enjoyed the Parallels trial but couldn't justify having 2 windows partitions installed- this solves that problem. Looks like I will be buying Parallels now!
     
  4. ewinemiller macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Location:
    west of Philly
    #4
    At least with the latest beta, it does ask me to reactivate Windows the first time I load a bootcamp windows under Parallels, but it reactivates fine and then it works without requiring activation from then on.
     
  5. karmacoma thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    #5
    Sweet! I'm downloading Parallels as we speak.

    Thanks everyone!
     
  6. giah macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    #6
    help

    I'm pretty new to this whole mac thing (got my mac 2 weeks ago) and I'm wondering how to get parallels to boot from my bootcamp partition. I don't understand how it works. Do I have to install windows again with parallels? because in the " More options" dialog can only select an image or cd to install.
     
  7. ewinemiller macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Location:
    west of Philly
    #7
    You do have the latest beta, right? The release version of Parallels does not support booting via a boot camp drive.

    To boot via boot camp in Parallels

    1. File|New.
    2. Select Custom and Next.
    3. Select Windows, Windows XP, and Next.
    4. Set your RAM and Next.
    5. Select Use Boot Camp.

    Good luck.
     
  8. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #8
    On a side note, has anybody figured a good way to back up their Boot Camp partition?
     

Share This Page