Parallels and fullscreen...

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Kingsly, May 1, 2006.

  1. Kingsly macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #1
    Okay, I just tried parallels in full screen mode... I was hoping it would automatically scale to 1440x900. I read that it does that, but no dice here. Ideas?

    (by the way, cubing over is the coolest!)

    *edit* lol, figured it out. You have to uncheck "change Mac OSX resolution" in the parallels main preferences. Gee, wait'll I show this to my PC friends!
     
  2. Malcster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #2
    Don't feel bad :D i had exactly same problem, went to parallels email support in the end and they told me the solution (the one you used!)

    Beta6 is awesome, can't wait till they have some 3d accelerated video drivers for it. Its waay quicker than my old 1.5 gig proper pc running xp!
     
  3. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #3
    I wouldn't hold your breath if I were you.
     
  4. Kingsly thread starter macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #4
    Its stupid... shouldn't it be called "Change VM resolution" ? I mean, that is what its doing
     
  5. whyrichard macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #5
    why is 3d video support so unlikely in parallells?



    r.
     
  6. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #6
    Its very difficult, thats why. They'd have to emulate in software a Direct X compatible video card, and then translate that on the fly into hardware accelerated graphics. Its just too difficult I fear, and looking at other products (like VMware) who don't have this feature and yet have been out for years on PCs, I'm guessing it won't be coming anytime soon.

    The point is that Parallels can virtualize the CPU, but all other hardware is emulated. There currently exists not ability to virtualize the GPU.
     
  7. Nar1117 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    #7
    Im a gamer, so this is why i wont be using Parallels to play games. However, if i need to go onto the windows side for a minute, parallels is perfect.
     
  8. dynetk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #8
    Though when compared to VMWare Paralles would have a higher chance of having 3d acceleration due to the smaller amount of hardware they have to make their software compataible to. Perhaps they can somehow wrap the DX API to OpenGL on the fly. I wouldn't hold my breath though.
     
  9. bugfaceuk macrumors 6502

    bugfaceuk

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    #9
    I am not aware of any 3d hardware (at least used in Apple's) that supports virtualization. That's the fundamental issue here.

    However, step aside from that, you can get D3D 9 software renders, they work "OK" but don't expect killer performance, but it's enough for applications that require D3D but don't beat it to death.

    Not right for games....
     
  10. secondplace macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    #10
    From what I've read around various forums, it seems as tho bootcamp may be the way to go for gamers. i think some games are possible to plan in parallels but not all. I've heard tho that they plan on upgrading video support in furture releases.
     
  11. Abulia macrumors 68000

    Abulia

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Kushiel's Scion
    #11
    I could have sworn, back in my PC days and gaming, that there WAS a DirectX to OpenGL wrapper out there. Or was it the other way around? Basically it was a way to make a certain game (Tribes?) that was OpenGL only work on DirectX cards.

    I'm not making much sense, but I could have sworn such a wrapper already exists on the PC.
     
  12. Dokter_Mac macrumors regular

    Dokter_Mac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    #12
    It's only a rumor i heard a couple of months ago ... and it could be the solution.
    The rumor was (profed with pictures) that Microsoft was porting DirectX to the Mac :) It's not a secret that OpenGL is the enemy from DirectX and that Microsoft is trying to make DirectX the standard for HW-rendering in games.

    Greetz,
    Dokter_Mac
     
  13. secondplace macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    #13
    as far as I'm concerned anything Microsoft makes along the lines of virtualization/emulation is crap. at least, that's how it's been in the past.
     
  14. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #14
    VirtualPC was originally developed by a company called Connectix (i believe), and MS purchased VPC from them. Or might have bought out the company.
     
  15. mac4drew macrumors regular

    mac4drew

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #15
    That is correct, they bought out Connectix. But they sort of stopped releasing new versions regularly after they bought it out. (I think it still doesn't work on a G5, and it most definitely doesn't work on an Intel Mac)

    But they have said that they are planning to release a new version... so let's judge the quality of their program after it comes out. VirtualPC was a great program under Connectix and it remains to be seen whether Microsoft will pick up the reigns and get it all cleaned up. But I have at least a little confidence in the Mac BU... remember it's to Microsoft's advantage to get this up and running and do it well because all it really means for them at the end of the day is the sale of more copies of Windows.
     
  16. zap2 macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #16
    It that like Fast user switching in Tiger?

    (Screen turns into a cube and moves to a new "block" with a for a new user)

    If its the same thing, ya it rocks! Keynote can do that for slide aswell , when i showed my Science teacher she was like "WOW is that a Mac only feature" and i was like "Ya:D )
     
  17. secondplace macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    #17
    I guess I just can't see Microsoft putting too much effort into a new version of Virtual PC. I think the demand for a program like this is insignificant as compared to other applications they make.
     
  18. steve_hill4 macrumors 68000

    steve_hill4

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Location:
    NG9, England
    #18
    No, they won't. After the first Intel iMacs started to appear in the shops, Microsoft announced they were working on a new version of VPC to work on them. I say this, because I think they had intended to until Boot Camp became popular and Parallels showed them how to do it better. The effort for them to make a new version of VPC would be pointless as people will happily either buy pure Windows for about the same price, and use Boot Camp to install or Parallels if they want it in a window.

    And to answer mac4drew, it does work on a G5. We had it running on an old iMac G5 with iSight. We used the VPC and then installed our own copy of XP though rather than using the VPC with Windows package. Doubt there would be much difference in compatibility any way. Won't run on an Intel Mac though.
     
  19. secondplace macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    #19
    I agree; once people get settled w/ boot camp or parallels, it's not like people are going to convert to Microsoft months down the road, when they probably will offer an inferior product w/ less features.
     
  20. Nar1117 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    #20
    Personally, i think that using both is perfect. I mean, i dont really need windows to begin with...
    but say i want to test out file compatibility --> Parallels.
    Say i want to see how well X game runs on windows --> Boot Camp.
    Say i want to clear my mind and return to sanity --> OS X
     
  21. secondplace macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    #21
    Good break down Nar. I think you nailed all the uses. Plus, what if you want to screw around w/ some Linux distro? Parallels will work for that as well. But as far as gaming goes, def. boot camp.
     
  22. secondplace macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    #22
    parallels just released the RC for workstation. anyone give it a try yet?
     
  23. atmenterprises macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    #23
    Me. I have tried various beta released of Parallels over the last couple of months. I must say that I'm completely impressed with this RC 1. My networking works. My Citrix client works. The screen resolution fills the entire screen now. Audio works. And because of that, I just bought a pre-order license and am starting to install all of my Windows software on it.
     
  24. sjshaw macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    #24
    Where is this option in RC1? I don't see it anywhere.
     
  25. secondplace macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    #25

Share This Page