Parallels+AOL=Online? Help?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Oniyuu, Aug 19, 2006.

  1. Oniyuu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    #1
    Hi~ I've just made my move to a Mac after hearing all the praise for the Macbook as a laptop for university students. Big change for me.. my family is PC Purist all the way.. But I did my research and the Macbook seemed perfect for what I needed. Small price tag. Flexibility. OSX is amazingly simple to use (pretty too!). AND~ no more Windows XP suiciding on me right before a major grade project.

    My father, being paranoid and very uncertain about me switching over to a Mac, interrogated the AppleStore rep thuroughly. I live in Canada and my family uses AOL Canada (DSL/Broadband) as the ISP for the household. The decision to buy the Macbook came when the AppleStore rep told us that, yes I would be able to get online with AOL on the macbook at home without trouble (something about Rossetta and Intel).

    Soo... when I take it home, I plug in my USB with the AOL for Mac OS X and install.

    ..wth? x.x It's not connecting. Called up AOL and I'm told... AOL Mac software is not compatible with AOL Canada.. AOL Canada is seperate from AOL USA.. Buh? o_O

    Put in AOL Canada 9.0 disc... I can't get it to install.

    Bloody. Hell.

    To cut things short (and get to the point) I cannot get online at home. The option to change ISP is not viable.

    My choices are limited here.. so I'm hoping someone here can answer my questions..

    1. If I install Parallels to run AOL Canada software, would I be able to get online?

    2. Would that connection be shared over to the OS X?

    3. Or would bootcamp be recommended?

    4. Are there any alternative options to get the software running and connected? Wine? (Though the site says 'basic apps' only)

    5. -OR- Am I did I major malfunction and not try to install the AOL Canada PC sofware properly?

    It's been very frustrating..

    I thank you all for taking your time in reading this long post.. Any help is very much appreciated.
     
  2. Steve1496 macrumors 6502a

    Steve1496

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #2
    The harsh truth is that the AOL Mac software is garbage. I personally don't use AOL, so this is all my best guess:
    Firstly, are you using dial up? It sounds like it, so, you just need an access number, and a username/password for AOL. Here is a list for AOL CA dial up access numbers. Just go into Internet connect, and set up your Mac modem to dial the one of those numbers, and put in your AOL username and password. If you need more help how to do this exactly, maybe one of our members who uses dial up can help you with that.


    Once you get through the internet without AOL software, just use a normal web browser and IM Client. For AIM Messaging, I suggest AdiumX (free). For a web browser, there's Safari (built in), Firefox, Camino (More mac like version of firefox), and more.
    Edit: This also may be of help for setting up a modem in OSX.
     
  3. Oniyuu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    #3
    Unfortunately/Fortunately we have wireless DSL with a Linksys Router thinger.. the Macbook's Airport detects the network, but there's no actual signal when I check the Internet Connect. The airport icon on the macbar shows full wavy bars.. but looking at the Internet Connect window, the signal strength is null.

    Is it possible to bypass the software entirely with that weird.. PPPoE option? If so.. could someone explain it to me please? Thank you ^^
     
  4. Steve1496 macrumors 6502a

    Steve1496

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #4

    What's the 'USB thing' that you mentioned plugging in? Have you got the right security settings, and connecting to the right network?

    Can you post a screenshot of like the one i attached below? You can capture a certain area by pressing Apple key>Shift>4, then attach it to a post by clicking Manage Attachments on the reply page.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Oniyuu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    #5
    OMG .. I'm so dense.. I finally got it to work after messing with the router's security settings.. It skipped the software completely.. Thank you! *hearts*
     
  6. Steve1496 macrumors 6502a

    Steve1496

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #6

    Congrats! Enjoy your MacBook! Remember, you don't have to use the AOL software, and you shouldn't. Like I mentioned above, these will probably be helpful apps to any new Mac users:
    • Adium - A free IM client that supports AIM, MSN, Yahoo, and just about everything else
    • Firefox - One of the best web browsers out there, though it doesn't have a very Mac-like interface. So, you may prefer mac-like alternative Camino
    • Flock - Firefox based browser but supports integrated blogging, flickr/photobucket uploads etc
    • Flip4Mac WMV Components, RealPlayer, DivX are all essential for good media playback.

      Have fun with your MacBook!
     
  7. iUserz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #7
    I'm glad you got it working, hopefully you enjoy your purchase, I know I will when mine arrives.

    However, your next thing to convince your family on might be to switch from AOL, also called AOHell by techies :p
    You're in Canada, so I'd recommend Shaw Cable, you'll find it far superior to aol, and if it isn't available telus or anything else is better than aol too :)

    Grats on the Mac and grats on making it work :)

    BTW: Telus always has promotions where they'll provide an ipod or a flatscreen display or even a computer if you sign up for their internet if that will help convince your family ;)
     

Share This Page