Parallels Assistance

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by DrStrangelove, Jun 28, 2006.

  1. DrStrangelove macrumors 6502

    DrStrangelove

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    #1
    Okay... so I'm not the sharpest tool in the shed. I don't even know if that's the corrrect phrase. THAT'S where I'm at. ;)

    Anyway... I believe I've installed and created the virtual machine fine.

    My question: Is there some easy method/website that walks a numbskull like me through the process (step by step) of how to install a windows based program and run it successfully?

    What I've ready in the help file seems to presume that I know more than I do.

    I've only installed it so that I can run MS Money.

    Someone tell me or point me to something that makes this easier than it's been so far. I have nothing to offer beyond a big thanks.

    Thanks (big).
     
  2. mian macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #2
    Questions

    Is parallels running and do you have the windows desktop? Are you installing from a disk or downloaded file?
     
  3. DrStrangelove thread starter macrumors 6502

    DrStrangelove

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    #3
    Not sure htat I understand the question. I downloaded parallels from their website.

    I have a cd rom of MS Money. Are you saying that I have to install windows? I was imagining that Parallels was an emulator of some sort that allowed you to run MS programs.
     
  4. DrStrangelove thread starter macrumors 6502

    DrStrangelove

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    #4
    Nevermind. I found the "quick setup guide" on their website-- don't know how I missed it the first time.

    I guess I *do* have to install windows to run in the VM. That sucks-- I only want to run ONE windows program. I don't think it's worth it.
     
  5. wrxsti86 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    #5
    Can your parallels see your firewire devices?

    could you tell me?
     
  6. dalvin200 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #6
    i found this quite useful for installing parallels

    and yes, you have to install windows even if you want to run 1 program :)
    isn't there a mac equivalent to your *windows* app?

    i use parallels to run 2 or 3 programs, and it's not really a big issue running parallels.. its very slick and snappy and does the job well enough for my requirements
     
  7. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #7
    Crossover Office (when it is finally released for OS X) should allow you to run things like MS Money without installing Windows or a whole VM system... It has been rumored to be in alpha testing.

    B
     
  8. michaeldmartin macrumors regular

    michaeldmartin

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    Testicles. That is all.
    #8
    If you have an imac, I think (at least mine did) come with a financing app, quicken or summin..
     
  9. DavidLeblond macrumors 68020

    DavidLeblond

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #9
    Quicken for Mac < MS Money. Actually, Quicken for Mac < just about everything.

    I currently use MoneyDance. But yeah, MS Money is the only thing I miss from Windows.
     
  10. DrStrangelove thread starter macrumors 6502

    DrStrangelove

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    #10
    Just read about it, yeah. I think I'll wait. Right now MS Money is the only thing keeping me running my old PC along with my Mac.

    Thanks for all the info.
     
  11. DrStrangelove thread starter macrumors 6502

    DrStrangelove

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    #11

    Yeah, comes with Quicken. I don't like Quicken AT ALL.
     

Share This Page