Parallels Help

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by theimp, Nov 14, 2006.

  1. theimp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Location:
    Ithaca, NY
    #1
    I am installing windows using parallels. I only have dell xp home cd to use. I couldn't find the key but found out online how to from the disc. I did that, and now in the xp setup in parallels it says the key is invalid. How do I fix this?
     
  2. Fearless Leader macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Location:
    Hoosiertown
    #2
    look on the dell, its some where. If not call up microsoft and good luck. I wouldn't exactly tell them right out what you did though. Its sort of frowned upon.
     
  3. theimp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Location:
    Ithaca, NY
    #3
    I found the key on the actual dell laptop. Now I keep entering it (CORRECTLY!) and it says invalid product id! Any clue why this is happening? I have a new intel iMac.
     
  4. Fearless Leader macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Location:
    Hoosiertown
    #4
    Its because its a non transferable product key, It only works with one computer, your laptop.
     
  5. theimp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Location:
    Ithaca, NY
    #5
    Oh, I didn't know that. So to use windows on a mac you need to buy a brand new windows? Is there a way to transfer it?
     
  6. Texas04 macrumors 6502a

    Texas04

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    nope there is no way to transfer it but If you still have a key of some kind you might be able to.. call windows they shouldnt do anything but dont go right out because it IS frowned upon... :(

    And I just did this today and I needed a brand new copy of Windows...
     
  7. SFVCyclone macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    Pasadena, Ca
    #7
    Call support, maybe my friend "jenny" from india can help you out. It actually worked for me when I bought a new motherboard for my PC and it gave me that message.
     

Share This Page